That Bev is SUCH a hard taskmaster!

P1010139
Very happy with this batch! Lemongrass and Goats milk, with turmeric colouring and calendula patals and poppy seeds sprinkled through it, with the petals on top.

Sadly, the lavender soap is a bit weird… tomorrow I’ll rebatch it and try again.P1010138

In a desperate effort to put off more wheelbarrowing, after I hit ‘publish’ yesterday I decided to make some Lavender cleaner I found here.
All it is is lavender buds and vinegar. I had the jar of dried lavender buds I made a few months ago out to make the failed lavender soap, so I just tipped some vinegar in and shook it all about. Look at the amazing rose colour it went! (The link I gave has a link to a whole lot of recipes.) I have to shake the jar at least twice a day for 2 or 3 weeks or so and then it’s good to go.

Then I had a reality check. The drizzle had slowed and I knew I had to start moving soil out there. I’d rather spend Cup Day gently placing plants in the garden, rather than labouring away like a … well… like a labourer. What a waste of a public holiday that would be! Besides, what would Bev say? There’s no way she’d let a bit of rain and mud stand in her way when there was a project to be done. I could see her in my mind’s eye, shaking her head and tsk-tsking me. There was only one thing to be done. I put a woolly hat on and headed outside.

P1010140

By the end of the day at nearly 8PM the beds were fertilised, I’d gutted my worm farm and rehoused about 95% of the worms I own into the two big beds, the topsoil was done and the boys helped me put the trellises and chook-proof fences up. I was tired and happy.

But I couldn’t pack it in without planting something….

Lazy Housewife beans, Bunnings beans and marigolds in the little beds in the driveway. The replanting has begun!!

This entry was posted in cleaning, Flowers, gardening, wicking beds. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to That Bev is SUCH a hard taskmaster!

  1. persiflage says:

    Well done. I think it is you, not that nasty Mr Joyce, who should get the $5 million salary (plus benefits).
    I am afraid I weakly go out and buy my rose scented soaps.

  2. Jayne says:

    Good on you for the hard work!
    Lazy Housewife Beans…another on the must-have list!

  3. Liz says:

    I’d be really happy with that soap too – It looks fabulous!

  4. Bev says:

    That soap looks good enough to eat!

    Not me, never in the rain & mud!

  5. Sal says:

    woo hoo, beds are looking good. And I read about the lavender cleaner somewhere a while ago, and forgot all about it.
    Copying again, I shall need to make my own this week. Looks gor-geous!!!!!

  6. river says:

    Curious about the soaps….wouldn’t the poppy seeds make it a little scratchy to use?
    The lavender cleaner is a beautiful colour!
    And well done on getting the beds finished.
    Roll on harvest time!

  7. Gwen says:

    @River — sometimes it’s nice to have some texture in your bars of soap for exfoliating 🙂

    The soap looks awesome! I’ve never made my own soap. Perhaps one day I’ll give it a go.

    Good on you for getting all that done in one day!

  8. Ellen says:

    Well done – I hope you slept the sleep of the just and true last night. As for the soap – it looks fantastic, absolutely good enough to eat. Now put your feet up – you deserve some ‘me’ time.

Don't be shy... say something!

