I had a religious experience…

P1010141

The first home-grown boysenberries.

Oh dear lord! So very delicious and juicy. Oh my wordy yes! Six berries filled my hand; they were Massive. It all goes to show that virtue is rewarded. The boysenberries were hiding behind the huge weeds that had sprung up in the left hand garden bed. It was only when I bit the bullet and went in to weed before all the seed heads dropped that I discovered the berries.

The only reason I bought the plant is that I like boysenberry ripple icecream, which I first had as a child at the Inverloch Icecreamery, a magical place that had many different exotic flavours. My brother always ordered licorice. I don’t know what relevance that Fun Fact has, but it’s out there now.

In other news, the weekend after my solar oven and kettle arrive… it’s raining. It’s clear that God has a sense of humour.

Well played, God. Well played.

This entry was posted in gardening. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to I had a religious experience…

  1. isabelle says:

    A strange Australian delicacy, I assume.

  2. Annie says:

    Great for sewing though, oh and the final touches on reports

  3. Jan says:

    Isabelle, boysenberries are not new. Not even Australian. Here’s a link, wikipedia I know, about them. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Boysenberry

    My dad used to grow them on a large, then semi-rural block when I was young. They we recommended because of two reasons. They are more easily managed than blackberries which take over any space in the climate down here.

    Secondly, blackberries in most of Australia are declared a noxious weed and should be sprayed and grubbed out. Pastures Protection boards have the power in rural areas to enforce this, although obviously some patches still exist.

    Blackberries were imported here by homesick settlers in nineteenth century and they have gone wild. Much like two other imports which are pests, rabbits and foxes.

  4. river says:

    I’ve never had boysenberry icecream, although I did used to always choose raspberry ripple when it was available.
    Your berries certainly look fat and juicy, and supersweet because of the natural ripening.

  5. Dani says:

    Boysenberries are absolutely delicious. They make a juice in Germany from these berries, that I used to drink as a child. Verily you had a religious experience 🙂

    With your solar oven – your fun now beings – congratulations – I’m soooo excited for you 🙂

  6. Liz says:

    Ooooh I love boysenberries, but then i also love licorice – thank goodness i never went to Inverloch and had that particular dilemma – hmmm perhaps I would have gone for the hazelnut. Did they have hazelnut?

  7. Urspo says:

    Heaven has a marvelous sense of humor, if we would loosen up and laugh we would be so much happier.

  8. L says:

    What a wonderful surprise. That’s it – you’ve inspired me – I need to tame the raspberry patch!

Don't be shy... say something!

