The gratification part of the whole “delayed gratification” thing.

P1010140

A punnets-worth of fresh boysenberries picked this morning. (Plus 8 blueberries.. not nearly so impressive.)

So how much would a punnet of boysenberries cost? $5? $6?

I figure that, with what’s still growing on this one plant, I’ll probably break even this summer. I think the plant cost me $17 at Bunnings, or thereabouts.

From next year on… it’s all gravy!

(Well… not gravy. That just wouldn’t work at all. Berries. Look, you know what I mean.)

Love to stay at chat more, but I’m racing around to get things done before I pop over to Foodnstuff’s house. She’s having a Thermomix demo, but hopefully after that’s done she’ll give me a quick look at her food forest. THIS time I’ll bring my camera.

This entry was posted in Fruit trees, Quality of life. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The gratification part of the whole “delayed gratification” thing.

  1. Hazel says:

    Warning….my daughter just bought a Thermomix…from what she says she thinks it will transform her whole life….I don’t think so!

  2. Janet says:

    I have a plastic punnet I use when picking berries just so I can feel smug about the money we’re not spending. Our loganberry is in its second year and gosh, what a bumper crop. Doesn’t look like we’ll have a second flush though. Last year the bush produced berries all summer but not many at a time….. Growing berries is so worth it!

  3. Mrs Bok says:

    Yum they look great! How big is your plant now? Very thorny? I looooove berries.

  4. Andrea says:

    Berrydelish!

  5. Urspo says:

    indeed, they look lovely.

  6. river says:

    yum, berries!
    make sure your camera has fresh batteries, or a fully charged one. I’m looking forward to photos of the food forest.

  7. Scott says:

    Yep. Shove ’em in a cheesecake.

  8. dixiebelle says:

    Delicious!

    Hey, I am finally getting around to reading “Animal, Vegetable, Miracle” after you said you were reading it, it’s a great book, thank you!

Don't be shy... say something!

