Apparently most things are compostable…

P1010143
I started with this… a pot of parsley. I was given a paper bag full of parsley seeds by one of the gardening club members and a while ago I just scattered them all in the pot, figuring one or two would grow.
I think they all did.
I put the worms from my little worm farm into the new Freezer worm farm, then cast my eye around for something else to do. I saw the olive tins that I liberated from the back of a deli on Saturday. While Dad was here working on the worm farm, he also tin-snipped the lids from the tins so I could plant them up. I decided to mix potting mix with home-made compost and some aged manure, so I got to work.

P1010139
When I came back for more compost I found this.

P1010140
Before anyone reports me to the RSPCA for composting live chooks, let me assure you that’s NOT what I was doing! However, it DOES tell me that these gerlies need their wings clipped.

P1010142

And I finished with this. These tins had 10kg of olives in them, so there’s plenty of room for their roots to grow.
AND I still have many more parsley plants to put in the garden!

PS: Pudgey’s still broody.

This entry was posted in chickens, gardening, vegetables. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Apparently most things are compostable…

  1. Catherine says:

    It just goes to show that you can grow anything with compost…..roflmol.

  2. Phoebe says:

    Haha! I bet she was very annoyed to have been sprung!
    The plants in the tins look great!

  3. Kate says:

    Thanks for visiting and leaving a comment. It’s been fun taking a look around your blog and I also wandered on over to foodnstuff as well. It’s always nice to connect with more like minded people.

  4. Bev says:

    It’s laugh a minute with chooks….as I’m finding out!

    Love the fancy tins.

  5. Andrea says:

    Love the Olive tin planters!

  6. Mrs Bok says:

    They look great in those old olive tins.

    Chooks sure are funny. I miss mine.

    Ps Evan15 looks great without the dreads!!

  7. river says:

    There must have been something enticing in the compost, or maybe she saw it as a new nest to lay eggs in. Soft and warm and just her size!

  8. Cathy says:

    When I first read the heading I thought I was about to hear that you’d composted the dreads! Was quite relieved to read on and discover that that wasn’t the case.

  9. Urspo says:

    when I was gardening I wanted to compost everything. Nothing was wasted.

  10. Jo says:

    Those tins looks great!

  11. Ellen says:

    The tins are great, really retro, and I love the term ‘liberated’.

    Good luck with the worm farm – you and your Dad have done a teriffic job.

  12. Liz says:

    I plant up my old olive oil cans but I like the idea of befriending a restaurant for some more!! I love parsley – I just wish it didn’t go to seed and leave me with none…..arrrgghh I really must sort out the succession planting….

Don't be shy... say something!

