You can hear a pin drop.

P1010143

Look at my ‘vase’ of sunflowers now!
Yesterday I dropped David18 off to spend a week and a half with my sister and her family at Inverloch. I came home, naively assuming that I’d get the rest of the boys back on New Year’s Eve, as always. I live knee-deep in people, both at home and at work and I LOVE the few days I get to myself at this time of year.

No such luck. They’re coming home tomorrow, as I found out when I rang Ryan17 to wish him a happy birthday.

P1010144

So I only have one full day to stop and smell the pomegranate flowers in total peace and quiet, before the mayhem starts again.

P1010141

Oh well… there’s always a silver lining. At least I’ll have plenty of help to eat these rye bread rolls I made for breakfast today! (This thermomix is revolutionising my kitchen!)

This entry was posted in Fruit trees, thermomix, vegetables. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to You can hear a pin drop.

  1. Ellen says:

    Enjoy the peace and quiet while it lasts – there’s nothing quite like the ‘sound’ and stillness of of an empty house, with just a sleepy dog and cat for company – luxurious, because you know the sound of returning feet will be at the door all too soon.

    The pomegranate flowers are beautiful. I live in hope of my three bushes flowering one year. I grew them from the seeds of a fruit my son was eating about five years ago. After potting them up and forgetting about them, I was tickled pink when they germinated. They may not flower, but the leaves are the most amazing colours, from bronze through all the shades of green. Perhaps one day …

  2. river says:

    A fleeting thought of getting a thermomix crossed my mind…butI’ve managed to banish it. What the heck would I do with the mountains of food I’d create? There are no teenaged boys here…
    Love the sunflowers!

  3. trash says:

    Did ‘Tommy stop and lock the door’?

  4. Barbara Good says:

    Love the sunflowers, I hope mine look like that soon.

    Savour every moment of your empty house, it’s been a long time since I enjoyed the peace and quiet of a house to myself.

    Oh and the rolls look yummo!

  5. Bev says:

    The rolls look great! Can I have the recipe? (if it’s already in the Thermomix book, don’t bother. I’ll check later).

  6. Liz says:

    I had to look up what a Thermomix was and discovered that it is “the most advanced kitchen appliance on the market today”according to its own press anyway so naturally I have added it to my list of must haves…..a strangely large portion of this list has come from your posts – how is the solar oven doing?

  7. Jo says:

    Those sunflowers are lovely. I want to grow some, is it too late this season?

  8. Time alone is a precious commodity.

    Hope you enjoyed what little you had my lovely. xx

  9. Pingback: Tuesday’s Top 5 – Kitchen Gadgets I may need | Suburban Tomato

Don't be shy... say something!

