Peas.

P1010145
After a rocky start, my wicking beds are finally proving their worth. Apparently in Melbourne it’s far too late for peas and the heatwave we had last week should have finished them off.

P1010146
These are peas grown from a pack of whole green dried peas that I bought from the supermarket a couple of years ago. Every morning when I go out to water the garden, I pick a few pods from the plants and munch away. I remember doing this when I was a child, the year Mum grew peas. She only did it the once; maybe she thought that nothing ever grew?

This entry was posted in gardening, Quality of life, vegetables, wicking beds. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Peas.

  1. L says:

    It’s amazing what will grow from a food packet – I never would have imagined it!

  2. kris says:

    You can’t live your life by “shoulds”.

  3. Liz says:

    That’s great – having peas now. I struggle with peas: if the slugs don’t get the seedlings, mildew gets the plants….perhaps summer plantings are the way forward….

  4. Joh says:

    Yum! That’s so funny. I grew peas once when my kids were young and we were living in Harkaway. Not one pea found it’s way inside. I remember watching my kids munch them like lollies while they played in the yard. Great memories.

    You really inspire me with all your growing and making. The most productive woman I know:).

  5. Jayne says:

    Love eating fresh peas and beans, they are so full of sugar and flavour 🙂

  6. Jo says:

    The peas look great. I am intrigued as to what a wicking bed is. Off to google 🙂

  7. river says:

    I’m another munch-as-I-garden fiend. Peas, beans, baby carrots, tomatoes, even tiny ears of sweet corn were eaten as I weeded and tied stems.
    This reminds me I must get some organic sesame seeds and plant them. I really want to know what a sesame plant looks like.

  8. Beet says:

    oooo I love eating the peas fresh from the pod… mine never make it to the kitchen!

Don't be shy... say something!

