Skinflint Sunday: Freeze cookie dough for a rainy/busy day.

P1010139

Today is cookie dough day. I’m going to mix up a whole heap of different biscuit doughs and, roll them into logs , wrap with glad wrap and freeze for mornings next term when I haven’t left myself enough time to bake from scratch. I seriously want to throw big money at the mortgage and put money aside for Evan4’s dental shenanigans, so every little bit helps. If I bake their recess snacks, it costs me 50% of what it costs to just give them bought biscuits. That isn’t a great deal of difference for one week, but over the course of a month, that adds up to $20 or so. That’s a real note!

See? (In my book, notes are real money. If you can pay for something using dollar coins, it’s almost like you’re getting it for free.)

I also made a batch of  walnut and choc chip cookies from the thermomix Everyday Cooking book (p128), pictured above. They are SO lovely. I think it’s the ground-up nuts that give it the almost shortbread-y texture and rich flavour.

If I’m going to be selling thermomixes, I have to learn how these machines work, so I have the goal of trying 5 new recipes AND/OR adapting old recipes to the new machine every week. Yesterday we made slurpees (that was David4’s idea) with Coke; pizza dough and today Ive made these biscuits and a tomato pasta sauce from the book. I’m really enjoying cooking, which is a minor miracle in itself!

(Listen… I know that these biscuits are not the daintiest things you’ve ever seen. I bake for teenage boys. Anything around the size of a saucer is ok in their book and if it has chocolate chips in it – so much the better!)

The recipe that I make most often is from the Simple Savings forum. It’s entitled ‘120 cookies for $4’ but I never get close to that figure. The amount gives me nearly a week’s worth of recess food for 4 boys, making 3 or 4 huge biscuits for each. It fills them up much better than shop-bought biscuits and I know what’s going into them. (Both the biscuits and the boys.)

Basic Biscuit Recipe

500g margarine
1 tin condensed milk
1/2 cup sugar
5 cups self-raising flour

Cream sugar and margarine.
Add condensed milk and flour.
Roll into teaspoon sized balls and press down with a fork. (Or fill a dessertspoonful and plonk it down on the tray with no regard for how it looks.)
Place on greased trays and bake in moderate oven until golden brown (approximately 10-15 minutes). 180’c or 160’c fan forced

This makes up a huge amount, so you can add all different sorts of things and vary the offerings. Things like coconut, choc chips, cocoa, hundreds and thousands, nuts, fruit, icing… whatever.
I’m also going to mix up a couple of batches of this recipe. I don’t often make it, because you have to put the dough in the fridge for a while before you bake it (and who’s THAT organised first thing in the morning?!?) but whenever I DO make it, they boys get all excited and apparently so do their friends. Ryan17 said once that he had to race down to the back oval to eat them in peace without all of his friends pestering him to share. I figure that if I put the dough in the freezer, that’s refrigeration enough!

I’d make Anzac cookies as well, but none of the kids like them. 😦

This entry was posted in cooking, recipe. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Skinflint Sunday: Freeze cookie dough for a rainy/busy day.

  1. Catherine says:

    I have used that recipe before and it’s a good one. I must take a leaf from your book and make and freeze some dough ready for school returning. Hey and saucer sized biscuits are fine in my book…vbg. I also just double any other biscuits recipe and bake about half and freeze the other half as dough. Makes it easy when I’m not in a huge rush but can see chaos around the corner…which happens most days…vbg.

  2. Now how does that happen? Your boys not liking anzac biscuits that is!?
    Biscuits don’t have to be dainty, if they fill happy bellies and save you money I think they’re a winner, and whacking them in the freezer…even better.

    Good luck with the thermamix selling too.

  3. maybaby says:

    Ok, I now really, really want a thermomix. We’re firmly in the scratch made, slow food is cheaper movement, but my time is so crunched that I can’t take full advantage of it.

    A thermomix would help. I need them to come to the US!

  4. Urspo says:

    Oh no it is NOT thank you very much!
    I just got up the momentum to loose this belly fat and this came up on screen!

  5. persiflage says:

    How can anyone not like Anzac biscuits? In my family we all like the raw ingredients as well as the finished products! Serious re-eduaction needed!

  6. Holly says:

    Hiya, having survived 5 teenagers (all grown and out of the house), and only our final ‘baby’ (he just turned 13 yrs) left at home, I have used the Buffalo Chip recipe many times. When the kids have had friends around, it has saved my pantry from looking like a plague of locusts has visited! It is very flexible and forgiving. Pretty much any basic cereal can be substituted, and any add ins- dried fruits, nuts, coconut, chocolate chips any flavour- can be used and/or substituted as long as you keep the total amounts the same. (Don’t like coconut, use extra choc chips or fruit in its place.) It makes a HUGE bowl full. Enough to satisfy a tribe of teenagers and their friends. 😉 The recipe makes a similar amount as the recipe posted. I’ve used that one quite a bit too. lol. Here’s a link to the Buffalo Chip Cookies recipe. http://www.cooks.com/rec/view/0,1910,157183-230194,00.html Happy Baking, Holly

Don't be shy... say something!

