Ginger beer

It’s great when “besties” get on board with the same interests!

I’ve mentioned a friend several times over the years…. Blogless Sandy. I met her back when I was married and only had 3 kids, so we definitely go back quite a way. Over the years we’ve seen each other through a good many ups and downs, watched our children grow up and I’ve even taught her kids English at school. She’s not perfect though… even though she took me to my first quilting shop ever  she resolutely refuses to take up quilting herself. Madness.

Anyway, she’s been an interested onlooker as I started to get into veggie growing, soap making and the like, but it wasn’t until last year that she decided to get on board. The unfortunate thing about this is that Blogless Sandy has an attention to detail and a ruthless devotion to follow-through which means that she’ll outshine everything I do. Even though she’s only been doing some things for less than a year I’m learning a lot from her.

The good thing about this is that we’re always jumping on the phone and sharing our triumphs and disasters with an interested ear. There’s only so much that spouses and children can listen to before they start getting restive. We went halves in a mulcher and we buy gardening reference books to have a library between us. If I have an excess of a plant or seeds I give some to her and vice versa. It’s all good.

Yesterday I went over there and came away with a bale of straw, (from her neighbour who has a farm), 3 parsley plants AND a ginger beer plant.

Here’s an action shot:

P1010148
Don’t believe me? Look at the bubbling action!
P1010150
Blogless Sandy had a crack at the ginger beer recipe found here. She started one plant, then didn’t think it would work and so began another. When both worked she had one too many plants. (See? I TOLD you she was an overachiever!) So when we tried a glass of her ginger beer (OMG! JUst lovely!) we came home with our own plant.

I’ve fed it and wrapped it up warmly this morning. On Sunday we’ll make our own ginger beer. Mmmmm….

This entry was posted in cooking, friends, recipe. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Ginger beer

  1. Gwen says:

    I would love to try that recipe, but I’m a bit confused as to what she considers a dessert spoon?

    Not a teaspoon that you’d put sugar into your coffee with, but larger?

  2. Liz says:

    Wow, that sounds fabulous – I await the results with interest!

  3. river says:

    @Gwen; a dessert spoon is the size in between teaspoon and tablespoon, about 15ml.

    I remember being at a friend’s house one summer day and hearing popping explosions coming from her dad’s shed. She said it was just a couple of the ginger beer bottles exploding. It was the first I had ever heard of ginger beer. Later that summer she gave me some to taste, it was rather nice.

  4. persiflage says:

    I used to make ginger beer. the plant we used contained yeast, but a neighbour gave me some, so I did not have to start it all by myself, but merely feed it until such time as the ginger beer could be made. I made it successfully a number of times, and it was indeed delicious – and I just love ginger. So did my mother, but I was one of a minority of her seven children who took after her in this respect.
    However, perhaps inevitably, a bottle of ginger beer (a glass bottle!) did explode, and that deterred me from making it any more.

  5. Jayne says:

    Woohooo, can’t wait to see how it turns out 🙂

  6. I have tried and tried making Ginger Beer using a bug to pick up the natural yeasts and …i guess Wellington doesn’t have them here where I live (way too windy – gale force at the moment) because all my attempts have failed. These days I make mine by adding yeast as I so, so enjoy GB.

    Yours will be brilliant. I hope you make and enjoy it all year around like I do.

    Happy Brewing this ginger delight,

    Michelle/Mickle xxx

Don't be shy... say something!

