Skinflint Sunday: Bake your own bread, grow your own vegetables and make your own stock.

P1010185

A couple of days ago I pulled out the turkey stock I made from the Chistmas turkey and threw in some home-grown veggies and some pasta remnants. Then I made some bread dough in the thermomix.
P1010183
A cob loaf and some bread rolls. From this:
P1010187

… to this! Dinner for next to nothing!

This entry was posted in sewing, solar cooking. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Skinflint Sunday: Bake your own bread, grow your own vegetables and make your own stock.

  1. hazel says:

    I was given a demonstration of the fabulous Thermomix at the daughter’s last week. It is an amazing machine. We made the Thermomix equivalent of stock cubes, and then some creamy chicken and mushroom risotto…very kewl! I also tasted some mango sorbet she had made … noice also.

  2. river says:

    It looks so yummy!
    I used to make my own stock and freeze it in meal sized plastic tubs. I never got the hang of making bread, but my older daughter did quite well at it.

  3. L says:

    I think I need to take some of these tips on board. I’m looking at our finances post-Christmas, and sheesh!

  4. libster says:

    loving all the stuff you are cooking, growing, making….. you are putting me to shame. I am in a slump at the momment with cooking, I love to cook but its all to hard at the momment 😦

  5. That’s a good skinflint Sunday.

  6. Liz says:

    A lovely looking meal – it looks like you’re getting decent sized carrots at the moment.

  7. cecilia says:

    a fantastic meal, we try to grow all our own food on our wee farm, luckily I have plenty of preserves put away for the winter, your soup and bread look lovely and GOOD! c

  8. Urspo says:

    Growing you own vegetables is one of life’s great pleasures.

  9. Sammy says:

    That bread looks so good!

Don't be shy... say something!

