Widget’s Quilt.

Last year my friend Widget had a pretty ordinary year. And by ordinary I mean pretty awful. The sort of year that makes you glad that New Years comes and you can shut the door on the pretty ordinary year and move onwards and upwards.
When someone has a year like that, then to my way of thinking they really need a quilt to wrap themselves up with on the couch if they want to listen to music, read a book, watch tv or have a sook. If they happen to have a black cat then the quilter has to work with black, even though it’s a pain in the proverbial, because cat hair on a quilt isn’t a great look. So the plan was to make a quilt for Widget over the holidays and leave in on her desk the first day back.
Which I did. But it was a close-run thing. I only finished it the day before…
But don’t tell her that.
I used the wonky squares pattern from here. I thought the squares would be a little wonkier…. but don’t tell her that.

The photos are a little blurry but they’re the only ones I have. I got Simon and Liz (who is now the proud owner of a thermomix, by the way!! Yay!!!) to hold up the quilt in the staff room before I moved down the hall like a ninja to leave it on her desk. You can see the orange jackets we have to wear on yard duty on the bottom right hand corner (in the spot where Scott used to sit in the olden days.)


The backing is a little… loud. She’s a music teacher so I thought she could cope, or if she can’t she can put her earplugs in. I used some cat fabric because every time she comes over here my cats are all over her like a rash, even Maris, who can be a little stand-offish with people who aren’t her people. I put in 3 extra squares because I made too many, but don’t tell her that. It looks like I designed it that way because I’m clever.

I hope she likes it!

****
How fantastic that so many lurkers popped out to say hello! What lovely people read this blog… really I had no idea. (And no, I don’t mean that the regular commenters are so awful. You know what I mean.) I wanted to email all of you directly but the blog email seems to have developed a glitch where it doesn’t pass along the comments until the first time AFTER I’ve approved you. I didn’t realise until I had merrily deleted most of the ‘please approve’ emails from WordPress, so only the last couple of people got an email after I realised what was going on. and I fiddled around with cutting and pasting.
There’s good reasons why I’m a technophobe and this is one of them.
So thank you for commenting and I hope you’ll continue to do so. Some of you had some great stories. And at least one of you is an aardvark, apparently. 🙂
****
Some of you were asking how the demo went.
It went FABULOUSLY!!!!!!
Three or four people who went to it read this blog, so I can’t say too much, but I WILL say that I had 5 people here. One person bought, two more are going to buy in a couple of weeks when they have their own demos with me (must memorise those recipes by then…), one person had already spent thousands on Magimix equipment a year or two ago and felt (with good reason) that she couldn’t buy herself a thermomix even though she loved it … and my mother even said, “I can really see the benefits of it now.” That’s huge, coming from the biggest sceptic in Melbourne.
We had a lovely evening and everyone left very well fed! A 6 course meal in 2 hours or so will tend to make people feel that way.
Most of us are going to a cooking class that Thermomix runs on Wednesday night to have a look at and eat some more recipes and I’m bringing a few people who don’t feel like having demos but are still keen to have a look. It’s all happening, baby!!!

This entry was posted in friends, quilting, thermomix. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Widget’s Quilt.

  1. dixiebelle says:

    You are such a sweetheart, and talented too! Bet she loved it & cried at someone being so generous…

    Great work with your demo!

  2. The quilt is beautiful – a perfect gift for a friend that needs to have a nice warm hug on hand.

    Congratulations on your first successful demo with the Thermomix – I must admit to being intrigued about the whole thing, it sounds like a wonder machine.

  3. Bev says:

    Beautiful quilt. You really are very talented.

    Glad the demo went well. 3 sales in one night must be a record, surely.

  4. river says:

    I’ve looked at the quilt…looked and looked….still not sure I like it. Not sure why though.
    Awesome effort to get it finished in time to surprise Widget though! Well done!

  5. Widget says:

    Yes, I was totally delighted, stunned and did have a tear or two. To think someone has been that lovely to me is just a little overwhelming. The cat and I have sat on, under and wrapped up in that quilt while we watch tv. Then we traipse upstairs to the other beautiful quilt and snuggle down for a sleep.

    I cannot say thank you enough.

Don't be shy... say something!

