Proud Mum and mashed potatoes.

I’m sitting at my desk at the end of our first full week of work since term started. Tired, looking forward to a slight nanna nap when I get home, but pleased with my classes and thinking that there’s every chance we could have another enjoyable year. There’s some promisingly cheeky boys in a couple of my classes that will probably make me laugh every day, while mixed in with them are enough diligent nerdy kids to make sure that the classes stay quiet enough to actually learn something.

We had our first whole school assemby for the year, where they read out the school leaders for the year. I was levitating out of my seat when they announced that David18 was the male Gilmore House Music Captain. What a way to start year 12!! I whooped and started pumping my fist in the air with glee for a few seconds until I remembered that whole school assemblies are places of decorum and genteel behaviour, not the place for a teacher to be acting like a …. gasp!… a mother!!!!

Ah well. The school knows me and loves me for what I am. (At least that’s what I tell myself in my happy Frogdancer world…)

In my mini blog break, which is what this week seems to have turned out to be, I’ve been mulling over about what to do about blogging about the thermomix. Naturally I’m pretty excited about it and what it can do, otherwise I wouldn’t have signed up to become a consultant, but I don’t want to seem as if I’m shoving the idea of the machine down anyone’s throat. The only shoving down throats I want to do is the delicious, delicious food I’m making nowadays in my miraculous new machine….
(Sorry. Couldn’t resist! It made me laugh.)

On the other hand I’ve always blogged about what’s going on in my life and what’s on my mind. Not to blog about this because I’m worried about people’s perceptions of whether or not I’m twisting their arms about booking demos and all that sort of thing seems fake and childish. So what I’m going to do is to blog about whatever else is important that day, then if I want to put down anything I’ve been cooking on the thermomix I’ll do it at the end of a post. That way any who are interested in eating can keep reading, while those of you who are here solely for the chooks, veggies or anecdotes about school can zip away to the next blog on your feed reader. Does that sound ok? I tossed up as to whether to start a whole new blog and just do the thermomix there but I honestly don’t have the time to maintain two blogs. So this seems like a good compromise.

Maybe I’ll preface it by ***WARNING!!! THERMOMIX ALERT!!!***** or something. (Again, mainly for my personal amusement.

***WARNING!!! THERMOMIX ALERT!!!***

I’m still loving this machine. People who own it have been telling me to make the mashed potato, saying that it was absolutely divine. So a couple of nights ago I looked at the mountains of potatoes I have in the cupboard, thought about the 4 bags full of potatoes I have yet to harvest and decided to have a crack at cooking mashed potatoes in the thermomix.

One of the other trainee consultants told me to make sure that the potatoes were without-a-doubt fully cooked before I started to mash them, so I made sure I cooked them well. I put 1kg of spuds cut into 2″ cubey shapes into the bowl, added 500g of milk and some salt and cooked them in the thermomix for 25 minutes at 100C at speed 1. By the time Uma (my thermomix) beeped, those potatoes were well and truly cooked. I put the butterfly attachment in, whipped the potatoes with some butter and grated parmesan cheese for 20 seconds and it was done.

OMG!!!! You know how you go to restaurants and the mashed potatoes you get are whipped full of air, light, fluffy and exquisitely smooth, with a beautiful taste of fresh potato? THIS is EXACTLY how they taste. Obviously those kitchens have a thermomix or two in them. Who knew? I should’ve taken a photo but really… all mashed potato looks white and you wouldn’t be able to tell anything much from the photo. Besides, I was starving. We fell on that mash like a bunch of starving vegetarian wolves.

Then after dinner Evan15 mixed up an orange cake for the lunches today while I sat and watched ‘Star Trek’. Life just keeps getting better and better!

On Sunday, Monday and Wednesday I have my first demos that I’m doing myself. At my delivery demo at the beginning of the month I had one sale and two people who said they’ll be buying this week when they have their own demos. Awesome stuff. (I’ll finally have thermomix buddies in my Real Life!!!)
Wish me luck! πŸ™‚

This entry was posted in Children., thermomix. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Proud Mum and mashed potatoes.

  1. Liz says:

    Congratulations proud mother! Just to let you know I have no intention of booking a thermomix demonstration but every intention of reading about your experiences with yours as they are entertaining. So in a nutshell I have no problem at all with you including things from the world of thermomix – that way if people in the non blog world start talking about them I can act all knowledgable and join it.

  2. Bev says:

    Congratulations to David18. And you, of course!

    I agree, I have no problems reading about your Thermomix experiences, because I’ve got one too and want to know what you’re up to (that last bit should be in bold type, but I don’t know how to do it here).

    I haven’t tried the mashed potty toes yet, so must give it a go.

    Seriously, it’s good to blog about the Thermomix. Thermie people will be Googling to find other Thermie people and who knows what other useful info they’ll find at your site. I presume you write to educate as well as amuse.

    Anyway, you blog about knitting, quilting and the 101 other things you do, so what’s the problem. Just don’t mention you’re selling them if it bothers you.

  3. Fairlie says:

    I wish I’d seen that fist-pumping scene!! Congratulations to David18.

    ***WARNING!!! THERMOMIX ALERT!!!*** sounds like something you’d hear on the Starship Enterprise. Hehehehe.

    I’m bizarrely fascinated by all the Thermomix stories…bring them on.

  4. Kate says:

    Congratulations to David and good luck!

  5. Gwen says:

    Love the thermomox warning!

    But having worked in professional kitchens in the past, I hate to tell you that they do not contain thermomixes. Just prep cooks who get paid to peel & cube potatoes into large pots on the stove and then mash them later on with copious amounts of butter and heavy cream and salt and pepper. To get the lumps out they’re usually put through a ricer. xD

  6. Frogdancer says:

    Sounds like my way of cooking is far easier than mashing and then putting them through a ricer etc in a professional kitchen! (I’d pump my fist in the air but I’m exhausted from doing it earlier today with David18.)

  7. river says:

    gosh! Is there anything a thermomix can’t do?
    Mashed potato! mmmmmmm, I haven’t had mashed potato since before Christmas.

  8. Mary says:

    The thermomix is worth having for the mashed potato alone. IT IS SO GOOD !

    and you know how happy I am for David18

  9. Lorraine says:

    Bring on the Thermomix stories….I am fascinated by this wonder machine…….was walking past a couple of people talking at work the other day…..one was telling the other about this machine they had heard about ….that did just about everything…..but couldn’t remember the name of it….so because I am an avid reader of your blog ….I just said “Thermomix?”….and by golly I was right……then someone else piped up to say his wife had just bought one…..they are everywhere! It’s a Thermomix revolution!

    Oh and congrats to the Gilmore house music captain……and his mother!!

    Keep writing about everything….although I usually feel like such an under-achiever when I have finished reading all that you are doing!

  10. Deanna M. says:

    Congratulations on David’s accomplishment.

    I love hearing about all your cooking adventures. If I didn’t hear about it from you I might just starve since I wouldn’t be motivated to cook when I get home at night? Do they sell thermomixer in the USA? You really have my interest peaked in them.

  11. Ellen says:

    What a great start to the school year for David – well done (all those music lessons must surely be worth it.)

    As for the Thermomix stories – shove away! I too am fascinated by it. My replacement cooker is arriving tomorrow – hoorah! – my poor old cooker has been slowly dying, leaving me only a tiny top oven to cook on for the last 6 months. But in a few months time I would be seriously interested in looking into buying a Thermomix – perhaps by that time you will be doing on-line demos.

  12. Jenny @ Erinport says:

    David 18, congratulations from your ‘Cavalier” mum – all the little fur-people here are thrilled for you too πŸ™‚

  13. Kate says:

    Well done your David, does your school have a big music program. What instrument does he play? Or does he help organise music for others?

    Re: UMA please keep on describing your experiences both at home and abroad. Not sure if I am a candidate for one in the future as being retired I have the time to do things “longhand”. Please just keep on writing of all your inspiring adventures. Good luck next week with the demos.

Don't be shy... say something!

