Patience.

epic fail  - FAIL Nation: I Think I'll Skip This Hospital FAIL

The title for this photo on Failblog was “I think I’ll skip this hospital!”

Sometimes teaching requires patience.

That’s ok… I get paid to develop my patience-skillz so it’s all good. (Though the year 8 boy I have this year… the one who everyone on staff knows by his first name which is rarely a good sign… is going to push me..)

Growing fruit requires it too. Again, it’s not so bad. I can wait a year or two to start getting fruit from my trees, though the five years or thereabouts before the avocado fruits is going to be a test.

Veggies? Now that’s a bit easier. A few weeks and you’re starting to eat, with things stretching out for weeks. Not much patience required there.

But getting boys to stack and unstack the dishwasher without having to be specifically asked… now that’s another story. They’ve been living here for 20 – 15 years and they KNOW that the dishwasher didn’t come equipped with fairies who do the work. Why is it so hard to see that the sink is getting full of dishes and the dishwasher needs to be emptied to move things through?

And on that note: why is it me who has to fill the shampoo and conditioner containers when they run low? I’m not the only person who uses them, after all. The containers we use are pump bottles so they use less, so all they have to do is get the big bottles of shampoo from the cupboard in the bathroom, refill the pump containers and then go on about their morning routines. No. Apparently it’s too hard to work out how to do it.

They’re not huge issues, but sometimes it’s the niggling little things that try my patience the most. Fortunately I’m a saintly sort who can rise above it.

Most mornings.

 

This entry was posted in Children., family.. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Patience.

  1. Cathy says:

    I take it you have a toilet roll holder that mysteriously places a new roll there when the old one is empty!!
    We didn’t in our house unless you call me the mysterious one lol
    Take care
    Cathy

  2. At 42 my hubs still hasn’t figured out most of these things, so I do hope you you won’t be holding your breath!

  3. Joy says:

    What about when the computer says “n0” or is on a go-slow …. that tests the patience. Being in a rural area the broadband is somewhat irratic and sooooooo frustrating. The computer is a red laptop (to match the kitchen!) so its supposed to go fast!!

  4. persiflage says:

    This reminds me of years ago when I worked two nights a week, getting home at 11.30 pm. All the father of my children had to do was feed the meal I had cooked, put them to bed, and then clean up afterwards. Night after night I came home to find it only just started, or done ,except for wiping down the kitchen benches.
    The message that came through loud and clear was “This is not really my job.”
    Your situation is most likely quite different, consisting of teenagerdom.

  5. Jenny @ Erinport says:

    Sure I must have told you about the little book I came across in the ABC Shop some years ago: ‘ Why men can only do one thing at a time and women can never stop talking ‘ ?? I reckon the answer to your problem is in that book !

  6. Louise says:

    Well I can get my daughter to unpack the dishwasher but that’s it no stacking what is in the sink, apparently that is not visable. Nobody here can fill up the pump soap on the vanity in the bathroom, they walk to the laundry to wash there hands??? I can huff and puff all I like but in the end guess who fills/replinshes everything!!!

  7. Elizabeth says:

    I’d ‘ve said the loo paper thing but Cathy beat me to it. There’s a long and horrible list in our house too. It’s not just males, Madamoiselle is just as bad. Lucky for them all that I am so perfect…

  8. Urspo says:

    Put those dishes in their beds.

  9. Liz says:

    We don’t have a dishwasher and my partner dutifully does the dishes every evening, but only ever those next to or in the sink. Apparently its far too difficult to turn his head to the food preparation area – 45 degrees to the left of the sink – to see if there is anything that needs washing there….sigh oh well – at least he does some I guess…

  10. Widget says:

    You realize it’s not just your boys….we work with a lot of people who don’t really seem to understand that dishes don’t jump from the sink to the dishwasher, nor do they move from the dishwasher to the cupboard……

Don't be shy... say something!

