Cooking up a storm.

Wise words!

Today I’m going to do a thermomix demo at Widget’s house, then tomorrow I’m doing one at my ex husband’s house. (It still tickles me that this is happening!)

Some people have enquired as to how the new venture is going. Actually, it’s going really well. I’ve been a consultant for exactly a month today and I’ve sold 6 machines and done 6 demos. I have 6 demos already booked for this month, but I’ve got the bit between my teeth and I want to book a lot more. (The annoying thing is that three of the boys are going away this week to Queensland with their Dad and Viv, so I have all these free nights. Wouldn’t you know that this is the only week where I have only one demo booked? I’ll be reduced to sitting in the lounge room gazing adoringly at David18 because I’ll have nothing else to do and making him feel slightly weird…)

I can’t tell you how much I’m enjoying doing these demos. For example, I did one on Wednesday night at my sister’s place and it was such a good night. She had 5 friends there and they were all so interested and excited about what they were seeing and eating. They were poring all over the recipe books, asking lots of questions and leaping ahead as to what they could make in the thermomix and how they could adapt the recipes they already use. They were all over it and it was so much fun. I sold a machine to an 80’s pop icon… hey! Even the beautiful people need to eat!… and drove home feeling that it was a job well done. When you show people a product that can benefit their lives in so many ways and they get excited by the prospect, it’s the best feeling in the world.  I like it!

I took David18 with me… actually the correct answer would be that he brought me. I have two ‘P’ platers and in Victoria kids have to get 120 hours of driving time in a range of conditions before they can apply for their driving licence. David18 turned 18 last September but got a bit slack about getting his hours up, with the result that some of his younger friends are now overtaking him and getting their licences. Now he wants to get his hours up asap. Me doing this thermomix business is perfect for this. Every demo I have which is more than half an hour away is earmarked for driving practice. Either David18 and Ryan17 take their homework with them, set themselves up in the lounge room/dining room/whatever of the house we’re visiting and they get their work done while I do my thing, then we drive home again and they get their hours up. I like to kill two birds with the one stone whenever possible, so even if I don’t make a sale on the night I know that at least one of the boys has some more time up. It’s a win/win. (Plus they get some study done, which never hurts!)

Here’s some links for thermomix recipes I’ve discovered in the last few days:

Spelt and seeds lavosh crackers

Apple and Blueberry muffins.

Lemon Tart. This is a really good video to watch as he talks about a lot of the features of the thermomix as he cooks. Plus who doesn’t like a lemon tart?

**

I’m giving the independence Days Challenge a rest this week. We harvested very little, did the usual for “waste Not” (along with Evan15 putting his chocolate custard in the fridge and eating it for breakfast the next day) and that’s about it. Maybe I’ll ramp it up again in the holidays?

 

 

 

This entry was posted in balance, Independence Days challenge, thermomix. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Cooking up a storm.

  1. Bev says:

    You really are a marvel! The amount of stuff you manage to accomplish puts me to shame.

  2. Urspo says:

    obviously you haven’t been among my patients.

  3. Liz says:

    Now I’m trying to work out which 80s pop icons live in Melbourne….all the ones I can think of are male – and had their pictures adorning my walls. If it was one of them I certainly don’t want to know – there’s absolutely no reason why Kids in the Kitchen etc need to age in my mind.

  4. Ellen says:

    6 Demos and 6 sales – that’s fantastic! As for a few free evenings next week, perhaps that is exactly what you need, enjoy having a bit of time for yourself.

  5. river says:

    You’re going to sit in your lounge room and stare adoringly at David?

    Do you not have a stack of unread books just waiting to be dived into?

  6. andrea says:

    Great to hear the demos/sales are going well & thanks for the links to the recipes . Im taking hubby to a thermomix demo tonight, he doesn’t know it but he is going to be making the pasta sause! You certainly know how to organise your life/ boys, cooking,driving lessons and homework and you have 2 jobs (hey you could write a book)……….i think you should have a little break this week and treat yourself to a massage ………………

Don't be shy... say something!

