David18’s formal. (As in dance… not a comment on his manner.)

Last night David18 went to his high school formal. He wanted to go all in black, like Johnny Cash. He looked so good when he was trying on his suit in the shop that the shop assistant gave us a card for a modelling agency.
P1010221

We mucked around a bit while I had the camera.

I also made sure to take a photo of the shoes. They were originally grey but he covered them with 4 layers of black shoe polish. I’m wondering what state they’re in this morning!

He and I have been alone here this week while the other boys are up doing the big family theme park holiday in Queensland with their Dad, Viv and little sister. I was expecting to have to go and get David18 from the after party at around 3AM, so I went to bed wearing trackie dacks for a quick getaway, but at 1.30 he walked through the door.

“They were playing ‘doof-doof’ music and it was doing my head in,” he said.

The actual formal was a lot of fun, he said, so I’m really pleased.

What’s not so pleasing is what happens when you run off selling thermomixes and turn your back to a veggie garden that has a trombone zucchini in it.


This is the gate. I’m not sure I can get in.

This entry was posted in Children., gardening, vegetables. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to David18’s formal. (As in dance… not a comment on his manner.)

  1. Bev says:

    He does look good!

    Oh, to be 50 years younger!

  2. Lilian says:

    My goodness – he’s a handsome one. And the cucurbit… well, mine’s a monster vine too (pumpkin) – growing in all manner of places where it’s not welcome. My daughter often laments that our garden doesn’t ever look like the neat veggie gardens in the books where everything’s in tidy little rows.

  3. Catherine says:

    My goodness doesn’t he look handsome. You must be so proud of him. Love the vegie garden. I’d arm yourself with a shovel, compass and ball of string tied to the gate cause it looks like you won’t be out of there any time soon…..lol.

  4. Urspo says:

    oh those shoes!
    Recently I had a young man look at my shoes and declare them ‘old man shoes’ – quite not what your young man is wearing !

  5. Maryanne says:

    He looks very swish! I bet your heart swelled with love!

  6. river says:

    Nice suit, although I don’t much care for that amount of pants leg scrunched above the shoes. I had no idea one of your boys is blonde.

    I think you’ll need a machete or a jungle guide to get in that veggie patch.

  7. andrea says:

    Good job mum, you must be proud. maybe you will need to call in reinforcements to get in the gate!

  8. CatJB says:

    Ooh la la!

    I get a kick dressing up my 6 yr old boy for the grade one disco….but that’s just jeans and a shirt. Go mama, you must be proud!

  9. nicole says:

    Wow. Where were those good looking guys when we were in highschool?!

    And that veggie garden looks.. scary. I’d say take water and food for a few days in addition to what Catherine and river said 😉

  10. Lesley says:

    Corrr, your David is a stunner! Well done, you, for raising that fine young fella.

  11. M says:

    I think there will have been many 18yo girls turning their heads to look at your boy at the formal!

Don't be shy... say something!

