Skinflint Sunday: Plant your herbs in the ground.

P1010138

Look at the difference in the size of these lemon verbena leaves I harvested yesterday! The ones on the left are from a plant I put into the chook pen and surrounded with wire. The others are from two dainty little plants that live in dainty little pots on my front porch.

Say what you will about pots… plants really prefer to be put into the ground.
These leaves will be dried and used as lemon verbena tea during the winter.

This entry was posted in gardening, Skinflint. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Skinflint Sunday: Plant your herbs in the ground.

  1. Bev says:

    Well, I think what comes out the back end of the chooks might have something to do with that 😉

    I love lemon verbena tea. It’s my favourite morning cuppa (although fresh ginger slices with a spoonful of honey would give it a run for its money).

    If you’ve dried it, you’ll know that the leaves curl up and go really brittle. I haven’t tried it yet but I reckon the Thermomix (with care) would chop those into little flakes which could be used (for example), in lemon icing on a cake. An idea?

  2. river says:

    I would never have guessed thos elarge leaves were also lemon verbena. I’ve only ever seen small leaves like those on the right, even on plants in the ground! kudos for the chook poo!

Don't be shy... say something!

