Why I’m enjoying my new project.

P1010138

I’m talking about my new “thing” of being a thermomix consultant.
Oops. *** WARNING!!! THermomix alert!!***

I’ll be clear upfront: It’s not all beer and skittles. I’m not all that keen on the paperwork, but even in teaching I’m not a fan of it either. Every time I do a demo or sell a thermomix I have to submit forms to me group leader. I learned very quickly to stay on top of it all, otherwise it’s no fun whatsoever.

However, there’s a massive upside, quite apart from the amazing difference it’s made to my own household and the cooking we’re doing. And who’s doing the cooking, too! 🙂

The upside is when I catch up with the people that I’ve sold them to and hear what they’re making and how excited they are. I’ve been selling them now for around 6 weeks or so and done 9 demos and sold 7 machines, so I’m pretty happy with that. That being said, there’s quite a few people who I know personally who are now sharing stories with me about what they’re making, which is really great. It’s one thing to read anecdotes over the internet and another to actually swap hints and recommendations IRL.

On Thursday or Friday last week I arrived at work and went to put my lunch in the fridge. I opened it up and saw 1 container of risotto and 2 containers of beetroot salad. I smiled.

Earlier in the week I was relaxing on the couch when the phone rang. It was Widget.

“I want to make custard but the recipe book doesn’t have it.”

“Yes it does,” I said.

“No it doesn’t. You’re my consultant and you said to ring you anytime if I had a problem so here I am!!!”

I laughed. She’s a funny one. “I’m going to have to get up off the couch and look in my book, you realise,” I said.

Of course it was in the book, under the heading “Custard.”

“Oh, I was looking for ‘Lemon Custard’, ” she said. I guess we all have these Seniors Moments, no matter how old we are!

On Saturday I dropped a thermomix off to Michelle C, who tracked me down through a forum and this blog and ended up buying one a couple of weeks later, after getting her financial ducks in line. (I thoroughly approve of that, by the way, being a tightarse frugal person myself. I received this text from her a few hours later:
‘Hi, we have made mashed potato for dinner, lemon custard, chocolate custard, garlic and herb dip and strawberry sorbet today.’ Then she asked me a question about the flour used for making the bread. She has young kids and they were all over the sorbet!
A half hour later my phone beeped again: ‘Well, we just had the mashed potato and I got told that I HAVE TO MAKE IT THAT WAY AGAIN.’
(Mary told me on FB when I bought mine that it was worth it for the mashed potatoes alone! She definitely has a point.)

Anyway, later on that Saturday I popped in to Blogless Sandy’s house and there she was using Hermie to prepare for Sunday lunch, when her daughter’s boyfriend’s parents were coming over. His mother is a really talented baker, so the pressure was on to produce a lovely lunch!
When I walked in Blogless Sandy was adapting a recipe for chicken skewers, where she was making the marinade in the thermomix. She was incredibly happy about the fact that I only took her a few seconds to chop the onion and the garlic, while chopping up her homemade preserved lemons to add to it took a second. The whole marinade took less than a minute to put together. There was an orange cake cooling on the bench which she’d made earlier. When I commented on it, she showed me the recipe book she’s starting to put together with adapted recipes from her old recipe books. She fiddles around with the speeds and times, then writes them down so she doesn’t forget. There was also a lemon slice that she’d used Hermie for and she’d also made cheese straws from the vegetarian cookbook that she raved about. Before I left I had a taste test of the marmalade she’d made using a thermomix recipe. I normally don’t like marmalade as it’s often very bitter but this one was a lovely blend of the tartness and sweetness. I wasn’t going to make it but now I’ll give it a go. It’d be lovely on home made bread for breakfast.

Yesterday Blogless Sandy rang to say how fabulous it is to make tabouli in the thermomix.
“You have to cut onion really finely for tabouli and the amount of parsley you have to chop is incredible because you need so much of it. But today? Ten seconds and Hermie did a really fine job. ” She was delighted. She also made two dips (hommus and herb and garlic), some bread rolls and another batch of cheese straws, so with all I mentioned earlier those people definitely didn’t leave hungry! All in all it was a very successful test run for the thermomix when you’re entertaining… a bit like when I gave it a test run when I hosted Christmas dinner here a week after I got mine.

I’m so glad that my friends like it as much as I do. I know from my own experience what a difference it’s made in my life and I’m so rapt to be able to share that with the people I love. My sister was talking last week with her friend who ordered one, (I deliver it on Wednesday night), and she said to Kate, “I can’t wait to get it! Every time I touch food now I think about how much easier it’s going to be when I have my thermomix!” Every time I do a demo I meet really nice people and we all have a good time. (Well, I’m feeding them so of course they’re happy!) It’s such a great product that even those who don’t see the need for one in their own kitchens are nothing but appreciative about how good they are. I go away from each demo feeling great.

Tonight I’m going to make sweet and sour meatballs with vegetables steamed in the varoma. (That’s the steamer section you put on the top when you need it.) I’m going to be out all afternoon visiting people on the peninsula and picking up David18 and his friend from my sister’s place where they’ve spent the weekend babysitting her schnauzers and doing some study and swimming in the pool, so I wanted something that’s quick and easy and nutritious. I need a different recipe than the risotto when I want something quick to make when I’m busy, so maybe this’ll be it. I haven’t made it before so I’ll have the fun of experimenting.

Then it’s back to work tomorrow.

Aren’t long weekends the BEST?

This entry was posted in tutorial. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Why I’m enjoying my new project.

  1. Urspo says:

    you never stop! phew!

  2. river says:

    I got tired just reading all that! You’re so busy!
    If I was still feeding a family, I’d definitely buy one of these, but since it’s just me now, I’ve kind of lost interest in cooking for one.

  3. Ellen says:

    As you have already sold me the idea of a Thermomix, I though I had better start my ‘Fund’. It’s low right now, but I am planning a sale of seedlings and old toot to get it going soon. I don’t want to just dip into savings and it’s good to have something to aim for.

  4. Karen says:

    Are Thermomixes sold in the US?

Don't be shy... say something!

