Early morning baking.

We had a late start today at work, so naturally I woke up at 5.30AM. After lying there thinking deep philosophical thoughts about the novel I’m reading, the rudeness I experienced yesterday from a fellow staff member and the dawning realisation that we didn’t have any bread for lunches, I leaped (somewhat) joyously out of bed and went to the kitchen.

David18 is having a rough patch at the moment and he expressed a longing for cake a little while ago, so I mixed up a chocolate cake in the thermomix and baked it. Then I made bread and pulled some cookie dough from the freezer to defrost while the bread was cooking. By the time 7AM rolled around I had a cake, 5 very large bread rolls and 4 dinner plate sized cookies cooling on a rack.

Not too bad, if I do say so myself.

Iwas preening myself on the efficiency of my start to the day when at 8.30 I noticed that David18 had left without making himself a bread roll for lunch. (However, he’d packed a huge choc chip bikkie and half the cake.) Then I saw that Ryan17 had left without picking up his lunch at all. It was still sitting on the bench. Well, I wasn’t going to take this lying down! Uma (THERMomix) and I had worked in the wee hours of the morning to get this food together. So I made a peanut butter bread roll for David18 and I headed to school.

The year 12s have their own centre at our school, so I went there and asked where David18 was. It was packed. Kids called for him and he appeared around the back of a locker bay. I waved his bread roll accusingly in the air and people started to laugh.

“You don’t just pack the fun stuff to eat!” I said. “You have to have a sandwich!”

“But I’m coming home at lunchtime,” he said. “I have periods 5 and 6 off.”

“Well,” I said, thinking fast, “now you can stay here and study because I have your lunch here for you.”

He took it while his friends laughed. Then I asked him where Ryan17’s locker was, telling him that I had to deliver his lunch too.

“Make an announcement!” a girl standing next to me said.

“Yeah!” More people took up the call. “Put it over the speakers!”

There’s 1600 kids at this school. I’m not sure Ryan17 wants his name blaring out in connection with a lunch, so I laughed, shook my head and went off to where the year 11s live.

I popped my head around the door of the year 11 student managers’ office, waved the paper bag at them and asked where Ryan17’s locker was. The male student manager leaped up.

“I’m going to write this on the whiteboard outside the office,” he said. He grabbed a whiteboard marker and started writing.

“RYAN17. Your Mummy has brought your lunch to school.” I turned around and Ryan17 had materialised at my shoulder. He grabbed the bag.

“I’m going to leave this up here all day,” said the student manager.

“Oh no you’re not!” said Ryan17 and wiped it off with his hand.

I don’t know why my children aren’t more appreciative of the fact that I work at their school…

This entry was posted in Children., thermomix, work. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Early morning baking.

  1. Liz says:

    I can’t imagine why they would possibly mind…..he he he – perhaps I should retrain and then I can put mine through that kind of torment.

  2. nicole says:

    *lol* Brilliant!
    And yeah, rough patch here, too. Sadly nobody will bake me a cake. Good thing we have an excellent bakery just around the corner 😀

  3. river says:

    nobody ever brought my forgotten lunch to school 😦
    You’re such a good mummy and of course they should appreciate you more. 🙂

  4. Scott says:

    A staff member? Rude to you? How can that be?

  5. Ellen says:

    That must have been so amusing.

    … and just to let you know, these very hands that are typing right now held ‘THE’ Olympic Torch this morning. Apparently the Olympic Torch has its very own protection team and my school was lucky enough to be visited by them today.

  6. This is hillarious. I can’t imagine why they aren’t thrilled to have you there. LOL!

  7. maybaby says:

    Yeah…my children are thrilled in the same way about being students at the same school where I work! Unless they need money for something…or a paper signed right away…

    I’m am saving so hard for my own Uma. Right now I’m baking for two club meetings and a fundraiser every week. INSANE!

  8. isabelle says:

    Sharper than the serpent’s tooth…

Don't be shy... say something!

