Setting a huge goal.

I have a class sitting writing an essay in front of me right now. Normally I’d take the chance to do some correction, but I finished all my correction yesterday so I have ‘nothing’ to do. After lunch my other class of year 8s will be writing the same essay so I’ll knock over some correction of these ones currently being written, but at the moment I’ve nothing to do. So here I am. With nothing to do.

The last two months have been very busy, what with the job, the kids and whole ‘living a life’ thing. Adding the thermomix stuff to it has added a sense of intensity to the whole mix. The house needs cleaning even more than usual; the garden has raggedy edges  and zucchinis who’ve branched out and mated with squash plants so I have mutant veggies; the dogs REALLY need a bath… yet all my school work has never been more organised and I’m loving the thermomix stuff. Also loving the extra money, which at the moment is being salted away to put towards Evan15’s mouth. (He’s undershot. He needs a jaw operation and two sets of braces to make him radiantly gorgeous. Children are expensive hobbies.)

Speaking of Evan15, as we were driving towards the school camp drop-off I told him I wanted to hear from him every day he was in phone range. So 2 hours later I get a text: UPDATE: I’m on a bus!

The next day I get a text: UPDATE: I’m still on a bus.

He makes me laugh.

I’ve been doing a bit of plotting and planning, goal setting and the like. I’ve decided that I’m going to try and pay off my mortgage by the time Evan15 finishes secondary school. We bought the house when Evan 15 was Evan3months, and what with divorcing and paying the ex out, then a huge kitchen and bathroom renovation, then overseas holidays to Bali, Thailand and Singapore, with sending kids to Central Australia (x3), Tasmania (x1), the USA (x2) and various other expenses involved with having kids … the mortgage doubled. Since 2007 I’ve been steadily paying it down. Last month we dropped below 6 figures for the first time since I had to pay my ex husband out. Now I’m on the homeward turn.

I’m so sick of paying an absolute fortune to the bank every month. Don’t get me wrong… I was very glad that they gave me the mortgage because at one stage early on I thought they wouldn’t do it and I’d lose the house, but after 15 years of paying the bank most of my money I’ve had a gutful (to put it in a ladylike way.) It’s a huge task I’ve set myself but I like the symmetry of waving both the last child away from high school and waving goodbye to the mortgage. The next year in 2015 I’ve promised myself that I’ll be going to England. Imagine if I could pay for that with cash AND have no mortgage as well???

I’m probably fooling myself that I could do it in three years. But imagine if I could? Imagine how much more money I’d have each fortnight to pay for water tanks, exotic chooks and reorganising the front yard to create a food forest? I’d be RICH!!!!

Well anyway, I’d be free.

So I’ve talked it over with the boys and we’re embarking on 3 years of Skinflintery and hard work to see if we can do it. (One of my students has obviously finished. He just held up his essay to show me the picture of a robot he drew in the margin. My students are lovely.) It’ll be lots of “waste not, want not” and self-denial, but it’ll be worth it in the end. I have no one but myself to depend on so I want to make sure that the boys and I have a secure base.

After all, with at least three of them making a beeline into careers in music, the probabilities are that they’ll never be able to afford to leave home.

Anyway, that’s what I’m thinking about at the moment. I like to have goals to work towards and this one is a huge one. The boys are on board and we’ll see how we go. I just keep thinking about how great it’ll be to get my wage each fortnight and have what used to go towards the mortgage to play with….

*happy sigh*

 

 

 

This entry was posted in balance, chickens, Children., dehydrating food, Fruit trees, gardening, Peak Oil, Quality of life, Skinflint, soap making, solar cooking, thermomix, vegetables, wicking beds, work. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Setting a huge goal.

  1. Jayne says:

    Yippee!
    Good on you, hope you’re able to hit the target then swan about the globe gracing various countries with your presence 😉

    A new friend told me how they had brined their homegrown olives, I shall now search for your post on your own effort to check the length of sitting for her 😉

  2. Bev says:

    Sincerely hope you achieve your goals. I’d bet on it ‘cos you’re the most focussed person I’ve ever met. Congrats to you.

    PS Finally did the TM mashed potatoes. Oo0h, bliss!

  3. Joh says:

    You are such an inspiration! I know you will do it. You constantly amaze me with all you achieve.

  4. river says:

    You’re right. It IS a huge goal, but such a worthwhile one!!
    I wish you good luck and many leftovers.

  5. Liz says:

    Fabulous goal – and well worthwhile. There is absolutely no sense in contributing to the bonuses of senior bank executives, none at all.

  6. Deanna M. says:

    Yea! for you. When I went back to full time work 6 years ago one of my many goals was to pay off the house and I did it. The other was to get a new car but that hasn’t happened yet.

  7. Kate says:

    I’d say that if any one can do it, you will. You know how to squeeze every cent from your budget and make it work for you.

    You have already put your plans into action by getting the boys on board.

    Maybe Tony will give you some extra veg each week to help out on a “family project”???

    I think you will manage it because you want it so.

    Good luck and happy savings.

  8. Louise says:

    it’s a great goal to aim for, good luck!

  9. Ellen says:

    Of course you will do it – especially as you have such flair for your second job too! And then you are going to come to England – yippee!!

    We are having some beautiful spring weather here at the moment and there isn’t a blade of grass in the hen pen. So you may be pleased to know that I have used your idea and converted a couple of old baskets that were being chucked out at work into our very own ‘clucker tucker’ areas. I filled them with clumps of chives, wild garlic and grass and sprinkled some seeds to grow too. So thank you from the gerls – they are very appreciative.

  10. Elizabeth says:

    Go for it Froggy, you know you will do it and we’ll all love reading about how you get there.

Don't be shy... say something!

