today

P1010140

Still absolutely loving my iron dragon I bought in Singapore near the night market. David(then16) and I went to the Chinese market on our first night and I saw this in a shop. It was too expensive so I left it and walked away, but I couldn’t stop thinking about it. Two or three nights later we were back there, so we hunted for the shop and I bought it. Once it was in my hands I forgot about the expense and just felt the thrill of owning something that I really loved. It’s things like this that make a house utterly personal and help turn it into a home.

I found these really interesting videos about a food forest in New Zealand. I’ll be passing this across to my gardening club as well. It makes me want to get out into the front yard with the newspaper and cardboard and get rid of the lawn one and for all!

Independence Days challenge

1. Plant something: Spring onion ends from a demo.

2. Harvest: parsnips, beans, zucchini, carrots, parsley, basil

3. Preserve: froze 18 bags of chopped up zucchini. (I love my thermomix… takes literally 1 second per jugful to get it done!); dehydrated apples.

4. Waste Not: the usual bread and veggie scraps from the bakery and fruit shop going to chooks and compost; the usual food processing of any food scraps/teabags/coffee grounds for the worm farms; leftover pumpkin pieces from a delivery demo were roasted and put on pizzas; accidentally opened can of berlotti beans (I was making hummus for a morning tea at work and grabbed the wrong can) was made the basis of dinner that night: pasta fagioli; grew parsnips but didn’t know what to do with them so blitzed them in the thermomix and made a soup…. delicious and everyone ate them without knowledge or complaint. (More seeds needed, Bev!  😛 )

5. Want Not: sold 2 more thermomixes and delivered them; harvested dried beans for seeds for next spring;

6. Eat: beans, dried oregano, dried apples, parsnips, carrots, zucchini, silver beet, basil, strawberry jam from December; drinking lemon verbena tea from my dried leaves;

7. Skill up/community: nope.

 

This entry was posted in balance, Fruit trees, gardening, Independence Days challenge, memories, Quality of life, vegetables. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to today

  1. trash says:

    You could always put ‘Blogged useful/inspirational info’ for the last one.

  2. Bev says:

    Love the dragon. How tall is it? Hard to get an idea from the photo.

    Self-sown parsnips are in flower (they won’t be any good as parsnips because the roots will be all stunted) so fresh seeds will be in the post ASAP.

  3. river says:

    I had to stare at the dragon for almost five minutes before I worked out which part was the head. Now of course I can’t stop seeing the face. He’s lovely. He looks to be about 18-20cm? My home has several dragons, all from those cheap $2 shops, but I love them.

  4. Ellen says:

    He is a very grand and tactile dragon – Iwanted to pick him up.

    … and doesn’t delivery of the thermomixes and making humous for tea at work count as skills/community?

  5. Liz says:

    Oh you are good! I love your dragon. My favourite things are all pieces that I can attatch to the place I bought them in. Usually involving a lot of will I wont I type indecision. A painting from St Ives in Cornwall, a leather etching from Cordoba in Spain, etc I do find memorabilla/art I’ve bought while travelling wonderful.

Don't be shy... say something!

