Parsnips are parsimonious.

P1010167

Went out this morning and on a whim pulled the parsnips I’d planted around the potted bay tree. These were little seedlings that I’d pulled out months ago to give the parsnips in the wicking bed room to grow and I’d shoved them in with the bay tree just to give them a chance at life. I figured that any growth was better than none at all. Then I went in and weighed them.

P1010166

90 grams. Then my memory kicked in… the soup I’m going to make for dinner tonight to practice for the thermomix varoma demo needs 150g of either turnip or parsnips. With just a few more parsnips I could have that part of the recipe done and dusted.
I raced out and kept pulling up parsnips one by one, then rushing inside, topping and tailing them and weighing them.

P1010169

A little bit over but who cares? Plus the parsnips that are left now have a bit more room to expand.
Then I went out and planted some carrot seed. Because I can.

This entry was posted in cooking, gardening, thermomix, vegetables, wicking beds. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Parsnips are parsimonious.

  1. Bev says:

    Hey, that’s neat! I didn’t realise you could weigh something on the little pad without the jug in place.

    Is that little conical bowl something you just had, or is it a ‘special’ given only to demonstrators?

    Great parsnips, BTW. Was it my seed? Why don’t mine grow like that? Froggie’s magic touch?

  2. victoria says:

    No one else in my house like parsnips but I too ADORE them!! So I liked this post a lot..

  3. M says:

    Parsnips are my favourite vegetable! Have you tried them mashed (processed, due to stringiness) with LOADS of butter? So much better than mashed potato.

    I bet home grown parsnips are fab.

  4. Liz says:

    I really should try growing some parsnips as I really enjoy them but i’ve just never got round to planting seed.

  5. Liesel says:

    Most of ours have bolted off to seed as they were left in too long over summer, but the flowers were pretty and full of good bugs, and every time I walk past now I grab a handful of seeds and chuck them around other garden beds – hoping for lots of wild parsnips growing all over the place.

  6. Andrea says:

    Didn’t know they sold Thermomix in Australia! (I live in Germany, the home of Vorwerk). I definitely love mine…
    Andrea

  7. Urspo says:

    I like sauteed parsnips with carrots

Don't be shy... say something!

