When a 15 year old cuts his own hair.

P1010150
When I came home he was looking like this.
P1010152

Then all was revealed. He looks like a junkie, doesn’t he?
He wore it like this for two days. On the last day, he and Tom20 went to Chadstone. Tom20 said that wherever they went, the shopkeepers were keeping a VERY close watch on Evan15…

P1010153
Only one side shaved. I don’t know why…
Finally he asked to be taken to his friend Alex’s house. Her Mum is a hairdesser. Apparently she took one look at him, said, “Oh dear God!” and groped instinctively for her sissors.

He looks much more presentable now.

This entry was posted in Children.. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to When a 15 year old cuts his own hair.

  1. Natalie says:

    Just about to take the shears to my 13 yo…
    I’ll try to put this out of my mind, while I am fumbling my way through another homemade haircut!

  2. kris says:

    Lol! One side shaved must be “in” because that’s the hairstyle my 19 year old daughter sports. She cuts hers herself too, but is a little more skilled I think. (I think she spent a lot of time practicing on her sibling’s hair before she tackled her own) My worry is when their friends do the haircut. My 17 year old son came home from a mate’s place last year with a mohawk.

  3. Katrina says:

    Ha ha ha ha – being school holidays there seems to be so many boys getting around with what is obviously self done hairs cuts…some pretty weird ones out there lol

  4. Cathy says:

    Oh the memories that brought back lol
    Many years ago before this and other looks were the norm one son aged about 17 left for work with a lovely head a of hair – returned late afternoon sporting a beanie and its about 25c outside.
    When he took it off (quite a while later) all I could say as I was looking at a bald headed son was ‘ Wait until your father sees it’ – all father said was ‘It’ll grow again!”
    I could have throttled him – both father and son lol

  5. Janet says:

    I think it looks OK. Lots of people in Preston/Coburg have haircuts a bit like that.

  6. hazel says:

    I hate to own up to it…but at nearly 60, I too am sporting a lopsided ‘do’…and I did it myself. So, don’t expect that this is necessarily a phase that he will grow out of. LOL

  7. Catherine says:

    I would have grabbed the clippers the minute I saw that hair cut…..lol. Mind you I’m a bit conservative when it comes to hair styles. Got to love Alex’s Mum for “rescuing” the hair cut.

  8. Liz says:

    When I was 15 I shaved my hair on one side too – only difference is that it was actually the hairdresser who did it. I thought I was the height of cool – most people thought I was weird.

  9. river says:

    I’ll always be grateful that hair just grows back, no matter what you do to it. Thank goodness for Alex’s mum too.
    My son used to shave patterns into his hair.

  10. maybaby says:

    OH. LORD.

    My daughter sported a one-side-shaved haircut for a while at 15. Must be the age? Hers, though, was done by our hairdresser.

    Omg. Teenagers.

  11. persiflage says:

    It is continually amazing how often totally unflattering and ugly things done to hair appear to the perpetrators and the recipients as somehow trendy and attractive, whereas to my mind they are totally the opposite.
    Obviously I know nothing about trendiness and attractiveness…

  12. I’m nervous of the teen years… very nervous.

  13. JB says:

    At nearly 50 I too sport an asymetrical do. The hair dresser said “are you sure” when I gave her the instructions. I have always been confident that it will grow back quickly, a bad hair cut only lasts a few days. Husband not impressed but that wasn’t why I did it. Fun, quirky, take the focus of the wrinkly face…….I can’t really say why but after a month I still like it.

Don't be shy... say something!

