I need a chainsaw.

P1010165
After two wing clippings, my very expensive Laveneder Araucanas were up in teh tree again this morning.
I’ve locked the in a cage for the day and I’m thinking I need a guy with a chainsaw to undercut the mystery tree in the chook run to make it more difficult for them to get up there. It wouldn’t matter so much but they cost $30 each and they’re surrounded on all sides by dogs, so they wouldn’t last very long if they decided to fly over a fence to get away from the other gerls. Plus I really want those bluey-green eggs.

P1010166
The other two new gerls are able to flutter up to the roof of the old coop. They peer down at the araucanas inside.

P1010158

I covered one of the little driveway wicking beds with bedding from the chook coop, straw and them planted a whole heap of pea seeds that Mick from the gardening club gave me last year. I don’t like broad beans so I thought that this would make a better nitrogen fixer for our family. I wasn’t sure if the peas would be able to get past all of the shredded newspaper but yesterday they poked their heads through. Very exciting.

P1010160

Garlic’s up too!

P1010162

I planted the second driveway wicking bed with a square from the One Magic Square book. In one corner is radish (already up), below them are turnips, then there’s garlic along the bottom and in the bottom left corner and beetroot (and a stray silver beet plant) in the top left.

P1010163
And here’s the next generation of Cos lettuce from Ceres. I let a couple of plants go to seed, then bent over the plants and let some of the seeds fall onto the bed next to them.

With regards to my whinge about the cancelled demo, I got on the phone and rang a few people. I’ve replaced the demo AND booked a few more for May. Sometimes these things turn out to be a blessing in disguise!

This entry was posted in chickens, gardening, vegetables, wicking beds. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to I need a chainsaw.

  1. L says:

    Your Araucanas are beautiful! I’d be keeping them cooped up too if they are that keen to fly.
    Glad you are on track with the demos.

  2. river says:

    *snap* my garlic is up too, well one clove, but that’s a beginning.
    I hope you get something sorted out quickly for your new chookens.

  3. Liz says:

    Your peas are coming along nicely, I go out to inspect mine each morning but have yet to see any green.

  4. Lilian says:

    Do you need to change the soil in the wicking beds? I’ve been keen on starting them but because it’s a ‘closed’ system (like a big planting container) don’t you have to keep replenishing the soil somehow? Like when you have to change the soil in the pot plants every so often because it gets nutrient depleted?

  5. Ellen says:

    The Laveneder Araucanas look very majestic too perched up in the tree – you can’t help but love chooks with attitude. Hope you don’t have to wait too long for the bluey-green eggs.

    Pleased to hear a few more demos have been booked. Hope you will make your target.

  6. Katrina says:

    Dad has to have netting over the top of his large chook run (he has a hen house inside a large area that he than then close sections off to plant with good things for the chooks to eat etc) as the predatory birds will eat the lot of them (one by one) they will also get the guinea pigs that run around in there too. He just used netting not wire so it was easy to put up….hawks seem to love the smaller chooks and gp’s

  7. Mrs Bok says:

    Another good reminder to get me out and planting just that it’s been so wet and freezing here.

    Hope your canas can hold their own against the isas soon, isas don’t seem to like other chook breeds much.

Don't be shy... say something!

