Just an ordinary day.

Year 8 English: a lesson on Personal Reflective writing for their upcoming assessment task.

I was going through what “milestone” events are in people’s lives and getting the kids to call out examples while I was putting them up on the board.

“Birth!”

“First day at school!”

Marriage!”

“First kiss!”

I turned around and said, “Well yes, for most people but I’m still waiting for mine.”

They all laughed and then Oscar piped up with, “I could fix that right now Miss!”

***

My other year 8 class. Creative writing this time. Whenever I use a guy’s name in an example I use “Joe Lunchbucket” because it’s funny. It becomes a running joke throughout the year. I said it and then the talk veered from the lesson.

“What happens if you ever meet a man called Joe Lunchbucket, Miss?” said Nick.

“Of there’s no question. I’d have to marry him. It’d be fate,” I said.

“But what if it’s Joanne Lunchbucket?” someone asked.

I laughed.

“I’d have to use the “anne” part as my escape clause,” I said.

“But what if he’s 85?” a kid in the back row called out.

I opened my mouth to answer… something about not needing long to wait to become rich or something… but then I noticed Dan in the front row. An excellent thought had obviously occurred to him; he was jumping around with glee and trying to catch my eye. When I looked at him he jumped up and said, “Wouldn’t matter… they’d be the same age!”

The class was most appreciative.

 

This entry was posted in work. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Just an ordinary day.

  1. Ellen says:

    Those ordinary days are the best – glad you are enjoying yours.

  2. Mary says:

    Beautiful kids – they must make some of the more wearisome stuff worthwhile.

  3. Liz says:

    He he – I enjoyed those. I don’t have any recollection of the boys being that witty when I was in year 8. Gangly, smelly and quite silly but witty – not that often…Perhaps the private school system breeds wittier teens?

  4. river says:

    I love your year 8 boys!
    P.S. you don’t look a day over 84…..

  5. Edwina says:

    That’s what you get for teaching your pupils to think outside the box. Just as well you have a good sense of humour.

  6. Beet says:

    LOL – cheeky bugger!

  7. Widget says:

    I use Fred Nerk as my character all the time in class…..one of my Year 9 boys went and found him for me……

    http://adjl.wikia.com/wiki/Fred_Nerk

    I love the dragon version!

Don't be shy... say something!

