Waste not want not carried to a new level.

Wow, this 12 month’s interest free offer from Thermomix is keeping me slightly busy. Sold 8… possibly 9 this month already. Very tired but very happy. No time to blog!

P1010143
I dried all the rosemary I could, then put it in the thermomix and ground it down a bit. We prefer the smaller pieces sprinkled on our oven baked potatoes.

This next story might gross out some people, but chickens don’t understand cannibalism. They just want to eat to survive.
P1010145

I made a roast chook a while ago and saved the bones to make stock. Once the stock was made I was left with a pile of bones.
I eyed the thermomix speculatively. Could it pulverise cooked chicken bones so I could feed them to my pets? I gave it a whirl.

P1010148

I carried it down to the chook run, thinking of all the calcium.

P1010149

They loved it. Loved. It. It was mayhem in there for a while.
Still didn’t get any eggs from them though.

This entry was posted in chickens, dehydrating food, thermomix. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Waste not want not carried to a new level.

  1. ginger megs says:

    Hmm…..is that like Soylent Green for chooks?

  2. Urspo says:

    I hear Mozart makes chicken lay eggs.

  3. Bev says:

    What a great idea! I bought a huge bag of chicken carcases a while ago to make stock and took all the bits of meat off the bones.

    My girls had it for breakfast with their cooked quick oats and yoghurt and loved it. I never thought of doing the bones as well.

  4. Liz says:

    Congrats on the sales. The rest of this is making me feel a little unsettled – not entirely sure why….

  5. Ellen says:

    You’ll have to start your own Thermomix Chook recipe book – I am sure those ground up bones were like Michelin Star food to your chickens.

  6. Kate says:

    Wow! What a great result and the month is only half over. You’ll have the morty gone in no time.

    I think I read somewhere that blood and bone added to chicken feed helps with laying so maybe the mashed up bones was what they needed hence the “stampede”.

  7. Ronnie says:

    Isn’t one of the reasons Mad Cows disease started was because they were feeding cows the unwanted parts of cows that had previously been slaughtered. Sorry the chickens may not understand cannibalism but we do this is gross and taking saving money too far.

Don't be shy... say something!

