Skinflint Sunday: set a goal and all hell breaks loose. (In a good way.)

I’m normally a fairly busy person, but the last couple of weeks have been amazing. Not only has the thermomix thing been going gangbusters, but I’ve also picked up another couple of tutoring students as well. I’m tired, in need of an extra dose of organisation, but I’m also really happy that the Big Goal of getting rid of the mortgage is being pushed along at a quickened pace.

Before I go any further, I saw this on Fail blog this morning while I was having my first coffee. Its very funny. I laughed a lot..

So today is Mothers Day. Three of the boys are at Tony and Viv’s so they’re giving me the gift of their absence. Considering I was out of the house for most of yesterday doing a demo in Ashburton and a delivery to Cranbourne and then was in bed by 9.30 I’ve had no time to enjoy the silence. This morning is different though. It’s raining so the dogs haven’t woken up yet; David18 is still asleep; the soft sound of the ducted heating is the only thing I can hear (normally we don’t put the heating on in the mornings but I decided to give myself a decadent Mothers Day present so I switched it on) and the whole day stretches ahead of me with a brunch at Mum and Dad’s and then hours filled with “me time.”

I’ll be collecting the mulcher from Blogless Sandy’s place, doing an Aldi shop, getting the house under some semblance of order and generally Getting Things Done. Now I know what you’re thinking…. that it’s far too much fun for one day. Step back and let me be….. I know how to live, baby!

Yesterday David18 went into the march for Gay Marriage in the city with a group of people from the school. I wanted to go but I was working, but seeing the photos of the teachers and students all together in their red t-shirts with the school’s name on it, waving their rainbow banner made me really proud. Only a handful of the kids and teachers who marched are gay; most of the group were moved to protest against something that’s patently unfair and discriminatory. I was really pleased that the kids were given this opportunity to see how peaceful protests are done and to be a part of it.

The garden is looking a bit sad and bedraggled. I’m probably going to fertilise and cover most of the beds with a thick layer of mulch and have the winter off. I can’t help myself though: I’ve got over 100 cloves of garlic planted, beetroot and turnips seedlings are popping up, the carrot seeds I planted are also emerging so I’ll see how I go. I still have 3 blueberry plants to put in the ground and the raspberry and boysenberry plants need taming, so I figure I’ll keep a couple of beds going over winter, along with the herbs, spring onions and spinach I need for demos (and us) and I should be ready to attack the garden with vim and vigour next Spring. (I hope Vim and Vigour are good workers.)

Well, the dogs are awake so that means I’d better go and let the chooks out and start the day. Happy Mothers day everyone!

This entry was posted in gardening, Just for fun., Quality of life, wicking beds. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Skinflint Sunday: set a goal and all hell breaks loose. (In a good way.)

  1. Catherine says:

    Have a lovely Mother’s Day. Sounds like it will be busy but fun.

  2. Urspo says:

    Happy Mother’s Day to you too !

  3. Beet says:

    Happy busy Mother’s Day to you hon xx

  4. Ellen says:

    Happy Mother’s Day to you! Glad to hear all is going well in your very busy world and hope your boys will be spoiling you rotten this evening.

  5. Liz says:

    Happy Mothers Day. I think its wonderful that school groups went to the march – very cool! Do you reckon 100 heads of garlic will get you through the year – I keep trying to work out how much I’ll need and then thinking I should plant more.

Don't be shy... say something!

