My poor students.

Today is the day that the year 9s and 10s get their exam results back. First period I had my year 10 ESLs. It was a chilly morning and I ushered them into the (unheated) room and they were bombarding me with questions as I opened up my laptop and started to get organised.

“Are they the exams Miss?”

“Do we get them back today Miss?”

Did I pass Miss?”

“Did I fail?”

“Did anyone fail?”

“Who failed?”

Preoccupied with getting the roll up on screen, I waved a hand at them and said, “You all failed, but some of you managed to hang on by your fingernails.”

Quiet fell upon the room. I looked up from the screen to see every eye fixed on me in appalled silence.

“What?” I said.

Eric broke the stillness. “What do you mean… everyone failed the exam?”

Oops. I meant to say that everyone passed!

This entry was posted in work. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to My poor students.

  1. Jayne says:

    LOL One way to silence the class even if it was accident!

  2. Liz says:

    Woops….oh dear I can just imagine how horrified they must have all been….funny though…..

Don't be shy... say something!

