Ministry of Magic

demotivational posters - SEEMS LEGIT

If only it was that easy!

I think I know why I haven’t picked up the knitting needles till now. I set a goal to finish a ball of wool by the end of today. Once the goal was set, I stayed on the couch till it was done. Three hours gone… but at least I can tell myself I was productive. Now I’ve got all the other jobs to contend with…. or I could start the new ball of wool. Only start it…

The trouble is that the pattern is in stripes. It’s just too easy to finish a stripe, then say, “I’ll just nudge the next one along.” Then you’re close to finishing that stripe, so you think you may as well push through and finish it and just start the next one…

Before you know it the episode of ‘Dr Phil’ you were watching has long gone, your sons are playing guitar and melodica around you and the ball of wool is nearly finished. The housework, washing and gardening that you were going to get done is still in disarray, you haven’t had lunch and you start to feel guilty. But hey! I really kicked along this cowl.

Maybe starting off the next ball won’t hurt?

This entry was posted in Independence Days challenge, Just for fun.. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Ministry of Magic

  1. Catherine says:

    Absolutely the best thing about knitting is that time seems to stand still. Well the world still revolves but when you using long sticks and yummy yarn time is irrelevant. Love the cowl.

  2. Jayne says:

    It is insidious and creeps into your bones until you begin to eat, breathe and sleep knitting!

  3. Jan says:

    Famous last words, “just one more row.” Right up there with “wait till I get to the end of the page/chapter.”

  4. Liz says:

    I have the reverse problem, my knitting is just sitting there looking at me accusingly whilst I ignore it.

Don't be shy... say something!

