Making things from scratch.

P1010141

Look at this baby parsley! A friend from the gardening club gave out the seeds, which she received several years ago from a friend whose great grandmother brought them out from Italy. When I planted my front yard lemon tree (the one with the lemons I showed a few days earlier) I scattered some parsley seeds under it. Imagine how lovely if this parsley from Italy continues to self seed forever after in my yard. How cool would that be? I have parsley elsewhere but I love the story behind these seeds. (And I still have some seeds yet to be planted.)

P1010142

The garlic and spring onions are going well. I had the poor little spring onions seedlings in a wheelbarrow on my front porch but they never took off. Once I took pity on them and put them in the front right styrofoam box they’ve taken off. I use them in demos for the garlic and herb dip and I really hate buying spring onions, so I think I’ll pop up to the nursery and buy some more seedlings. With a trip to Hong Kong to go for… I’m going to need LOTS of spring onions!
Actually, the beetroot plants in the background are also from the same gardening visit. They were struggling a bit but now look very healthy after all the rain we’ve been having. Say what you like, I really think plants do better with rain rather than tap water.

P1010143

Is rhubarb meant to die down over winter or have I killed my little baby seedling that I nurtured for months?

P1010140

Making bread. Mmmmmmmm.

This entry was posted in gardening, Quality of life, thermomix, vegetables, wicking beds. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Making things from scratch.

  1. Liz says:

    It might be a herbaceous variety but a quick and speedy burial may be in order….hope I’m wrong…I definitely do think you’re right about plants doing better with rain – I don’t think its so much the quality of the water though rather it gets everywhere whereas with watering the whole soil rarely gets completely wet.

  2. Kate says:

    Re spring onions, when I buy them (not very often) I cut off the roots and about 1/2-1 inch of the base. These are then planted in pots where they become a continuous supply. When cutting them you always leave the base and roots in the ground and they grow again. I usually have 2 or 3 pots on the go as I also seem to use a lot of them. I also find the “base plants” get a bit thick after 18 months or so and I pull them and replace them with some new stock. Last year I had a disaster when the ants took up farming aphids in the largest of my pots. I tried spraying with water and white oil to no avail. I had to empty the pot and change its possey to confuse them. Given how many spring onions you might need for your demos you might have to plant them in styrofoam boxes. Just as a foot note maybe your ex will give you his wilting onions to use the bases for this project?? Cheers

  3. Ellen says:

    Your comment about the rain cheered me, as there is a LOT of it here at the moment. As for the rhubarb they do die down to nothing over winter. Last year I had two planted in the veggie patch. During the winter it was impossible to tell where they had been growing. Sadly, one didn’t make it, but the other plant, Champagne, has the genes of a triffid and is sprouting for England. Good luck with yours.

Don't be shy... say something!

