Skinflint Sunday: Get comfortable at home.

P1010145

I was taking some veggie scraps out to the worm farm when a flash of yellow caught my eye. It was at the bottom of the lime tree. I bent down and picked up a bright yellow lime!  It was fine, not rotten at all. I’ve no idea how/when/where it ripened; I was convinced that all the limes fell off the tree and that nothing grew. I brought it inside and gloated.

Then I grabbed the lemon that I picked last week and decided to make lemon/lime butter with our own eggs and our own fruit!!! If only we had some sugar cane and a cow I could’ve made it from all of our own ingredients. Still, I think we didn’t do too badly.
P1010146

8 minutes in the thermomix and it was all done. Evan15 was helping me and as the thermomix was doing its thing we watched little Molly crawl on top of the basket of clean washing that was dumped in the kitchen.

P1010147

Tom20 came into the room and said to her, “Oi! Get off the washing!”

“Leave her be,” I said. “If your mouth was hurting you’d want to climb into a pile of washing for comfort too.”

Evan15 laughed. “Yes, I can just see Tom20….. ‘My mouth hurts. I’ll just crawl into here. It smells of my family and soap….’ ”

P1010148

Look at her little face…

This entry was posted in chickens, Children., Fruit trees, pets, Quality of life, thermomix. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Skinflint Sunday: Get comfortable at home.

  1. foodnstuff says:

    My lime tree was like that for the first couple of years…all the little ones fell off. This year it’s covered in ripe ones. Thermomix lemon butter is to die for! I eat it out of the jar by the spoonful.

    Hope Molly feels better soon.

  2. Deb says:

    Lemon butter, yum. Looks delicious

  3. Liz says:

    I have ripe limes at the moment too – exciting isn’t it.

  4. Ellen says:

    The lemon/lime butter looks divine! I made lemon curd (same thing) two weeks ago – using our own eggs – but it took much longer than eight minutes. After 15 minutes of hand-whisking it on the stove it looked lovely, although a little runny, and after tasting it realised why – I had forgotten to add the sugar – yuck!

  5. Catherine says:

    I’ve been picking limes too – only small ones but they are limes ; – ))) I made a batch of barley water with limes rather than a lemon. It’s not bad but I prefer the lemon flavoured. Poor little Molly. She does look very comfortable. Hope she is feeling better soon.

Don't be shy... say something!

