A Quiet Sunday Morning.

P1010139

Thought I’d take a walk with the camera this morning to show you a little of what’s been going on. First, the wicking boxes, where I put mint and watercress. The watercress (above) is loving it.
P1010138
However, the mint is looking a bit sad. Sad little mint. I’m guessing that no matter how much water you have, the cold weather is bound to put a cramp in your growing style. I know it would in mine.

P1010140

A pot of waterlogged pineapple sage. I’d better fix that pretty soon. Sage isn’t fond of water at the best of times so I’d better find a spot in the garden and plant this thing. I like to make tea with the leaves. (For those people who are concerned about this plant, I tipped the water out after I took the photo. No plants were harmed in the making of this blog post.)

P1010141
Here’s the lemon tree that I planted in the front garden, with an underplanting of Italian parsley that a woman from the gardening club gave me. It REALLY is Italian parsley, brought here in the 1930s (I think) by people who ended up being the grandparents of a friend of hers. I like to think of it still going strong in lots of gardens now, with mine being only the latest. I still have one ripe lemon growing on the tree. The boys keep bringing lemons back from their Dad’s shop so I haven’t had to pick it yet.

P1010142

The garlic in this pot is starting to get all yellowy. Any ideas about what I can do?

P1010143

The peas in the driveway wicking bed are almost literally exploding out of the bed in all directions. The house next door sold yesterday so I’m waiting to hear how much it went for. (Then I’ll know the land value on my place, not that I’m planning to move any decade in the foreseeable future.) Fingers crossed that the new owners like single-storey living.

Yesterday David18 and I went on a bit of a road trip to deliver a thermomix to a blog reader *waves to A* who lives a long way away in Phillip Island. When she emailed me to say that she’d like to buy a thermomix but said where she lived, my first thought was, ‘Oh no! It’s too far away.’ But then I thought of how many driving hours that it would give David18 so I went and asked him.He was enthused. (He was then on 102 hours…. only 18 hours to go till he can go for his licence, so a trip of around 2 hours each way was very appealing.) Plus, she’s a blog reader, so of course I wanted to do it! So yesterday was the day.

I’m so glad we did it. It was really good to sit in the car with David18 and idly chat about things, sing along to daggy old songs on the radio or just sit in silence and chill. He’s good company. We drove to Phillip Island, which is a beautiful place even at this chilly time of the year, met A and her lovely little dog, did the delivery demo and then a couple of hours later were on our way home again.

We were driving along, just off the bridge onto the mainland when David18 interrupted himself to say, “Just look at this scene! It’s beautiful. The green either side, the road ribboning along the hills and the sea over there…”

He was right. It was pretty spectacular. It’s a snapshot memory that we wouldn’t have had if we’d stayed at home doing the same old, same old. (Which, sadly, is what I’ve earmarked for today.)

Actually, both A and foodnstuff have started planting their tomatoes, which is something I’ve got to get onto. I always leave it too late so this year, with both of them leading by example, I’d better get a move on.

P1010144
Here’s Disney in the nesting box. She’s been broody for weeks. She’s a funny little thing when she actually gets out of the nesting box. She’s cranky and crabby, muttering to herself the whole time and chasing poor Bertie and bullying him. She’s the smallest hen I own but she has the biggest personality.

P1010145
Buffy’s the oldest hen. Considering the low rate of eggs being laid her days should be numbered, but she keeps them all in order and she also comes into the house looking for me when it’s twilight and she wants some sunflower seeds to go to bed with. She loves her Mummy so I can’t chop her head off, can I?

P1010152

Here’s Lady Grey, the other lavender araucana. I didn’t deliberately name her that; her name just kept coming to me. She’s the one I caught in the act of laying an egg the other day.

P1010150

Pudgy. Well named by Evan15.

P1010147

I actually came into the run to show you this. Remember last year when I bought some Clucker Tucker from Green Harvest and set up the cages over the top so the gerls would have a continuous supply of green food? Well, almost a year on and it’s been working a treat. The leaves of all the plants are sheared off in a straight line as they grow too close to the top, while the height of the baskets mean that the gerls don’t get too close to the roots and dig them up.

P1010148

Here’s my lone orange, growing near the clucker tucker. It’s tiny, but it’s mine.

P1010149

I turned around to leave the run and there were the gerls, ambling over to see what I was doing. It was like a scene out of ‘The Birds.’

Time to leave the computer and start creating order from chaos. Enjoy the weekend everyone!

This entry was posted in chickens, Fruit trees, gardening, thermomix, vegetables, wicking beds. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A Quiet Sunday Morning.

  1. Jools says:

    I really love your blog and reading all about the gerls and your boys. I’m a solo mum to 1 girl and 2 boys, my baby is 7yrs, I cannot not wait to one day purchase my own little place I can call my own so I can have my chooks again (the ex brought me out) I was a stay at home mum and only worked part -time could not afford the repayments then šŸ˜¦
    you inspire me to hold onto that dream. Thanks!

  2. foodnstuff says:

    Mint always dies back a bit in the winter. It will forge ahead again in spring. My garlic is awful this year. The yellowing (if there’s orange flecks on the leaves as well) is due to garlic rust, a fungus. No suggestions as to what to do; if I had any, I’d have done it! Sorry.
    (Unrelated question: why can’t I see a flashing cursor when I’m in this comments box? I can’t tell where I am. Happened since you swapped to WordPress, but my WP blog comments box is OK).

    Love the Gerls! Mine are laying again!

  3. Liz says:

    I should really be putting some order to my garden too and yet here I am typing in your comments box. Re: the garlic it looks pretty wet – it doesn’t tend to like being too waterlogged, otherwise could it be lack of food, some compost tea might sort it out.

  4. ah dammit…wordpress…have to comment as my facebook page šŸ™‚ ah my mint always dies back this time of year so sounds normal….is the garlic to wet? And wow those peas are amazing….love your garden and chook pics…always so calming for me

  5. Chooks always look so querulous and cranky, whatever their real natures are! Your garden always looks so impressive. Mine is the size of a lady’s pocket handkerchief, and I recall wistfully the days of a large enough block of land and the possibilities and actualities of encroaching on the adjacent vacant land.

  6. jayne13 says:

    Ahhh, thought it might be still too early to start toms but I’ll give it a go!
    No idea re the yellowing garlic, mine is planted in coffee cups on the window sill and going gangbusters with the warmth from the stove, maybe the frost causing the yellowing?

Don't be shy... say something!

