Thank God for central heating.

P1010145

It’s a wintry afternoon here in Melbourne and I have no demos booked this weekend. A good opportunity to hunker down inside and do a few jobs that I’ve been putting off. The heating’s on and the dogs are snoring and I should be doing something practical and constructive but instead I’m here, tapping away on the keyboard.
I may’ve mentioned that my sister has also decided to become a thermomix consultant. I had a postponement last night so I was snoozing in front of the tv when my phone rang. She made her first sale!!! I’m really proud of her. Anyway, back to the weekend…
P1010140
Bertie likes napping on the Kiki Mariko rug I made a couple of years ago.
P1010141
The gerls would no doubt like to try the same experience, but I object to chook poo in the house.

P1010147
The pomegranate tree outside the chook pen is starting to bud up. So are my plum trees in the front yard.
P1010142
The peas in the driveway wicking bed are even more insane than last week. Pods are starting to form.
P1010143
The gerls were following me around in the hopes I’d start dislodging earth and finding worms for them. Pudgy is about to start pruning the overhanging pea plants. She and Hazel are tall enough to realise that there’s green things in them thar wicking beds.
P1010148
Remember the poor waterlogged pineapple sage pot? Last weekend I plonked it here, under the fig tree, with strategically placed anti-chook wood to give the poor thing a fighting chance. I gave it a wicked prune and now it’s up to the gods of sage to see if it lives or dies. I figure sage doesn’t like to get too wet, so if it’s competing with a 30 foot fig tree for water then the last thing it’ll have to worry about is having too much water.
P1010149
The asparagus is up! It ranges from big fat huge spears (the one in the middle is nearly as tall as my good self) and scrawny little spears that are obviously from the seed I planted last year. I’ve decided to leave it all grow undisturbed, even though it’s almost certain that the large spears are from mature crowns I also planted last year. I’ll let them do their thing for another year and then I’ll start attacking them. (mmmmm)
P1010150
Here’s a shot of the 3m long wicking bed under the boys’ bedroom window. I’ve been placing mashed up kitchen scraps directly into the soil as well as in the worm feeding station, so the soil has had a huge influx of organic material since its horrible beginnings when it had a ph of 10. It’s looking pretty good for a bed in the middle of winter, doesn’t it?

P1010138
The final photo isn’t pretty, but it’s a shot of my tomato, coriander and capsicum seeds I sowed last weekend. The kitchen window faces west and it’s my usual place to pop seeds to germinate but this cold snap wouldn’t be all that encouraging. I don’t own a greenhouse, but I thought that a plastic bag over the top would do the same thing. It seems to be working so far.

And here’s a final gift:
A guy at work sent this to all the English teachers. Writing tips from 30 great writers. Worth a read.

This entry was posted in chickens, Etsy shop, family., meme, pets, tutorial, vent. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Thank God for central heating.

  1. Ellen says:

    Lovely pictures of your garden, Bertie and the chooks. I can’t believe your garden looks that good (wish I could use italics) during the wintertime, looking at the buds it must be a great feeling to know that sping is just round the corner.

  2. kris says:

    Yep. Central heating on here. Lovely. (Your garden does look wonderful!)

  3. foodnstuff says:

    Things are looking great! I’ve read that with asparagus, if the spear is thicker than a pencil, you can pick it, otherwise leave it to form the fern. I don’t need any more encouragement…I picked 8 last week.

  4. Kate says:

    Hey, well done with the asparagus, still a little cold and frosty (and boggy) in our part of the world but it promted me to check the bed for weeds etc and get a little mulch happening. I bought seeds today for my tomatoes and are trying some new varieties including, on your recomendation, Amish Paste. We have not had a lot of joy the last couple of summers with the toms and we have an idea that inspite of planting in new beds etc, it has to do with the regular varieties, especially the grafted ones, having a reduced resistance to bugs and disease etc. My other thinks that the nursuries inoculate them to sell more chemicals Ho! Ho! So we will just have to wait and see. Enjoy your week.

    Well done with the lemonade, I like them in the summer as a juice, icy cold.

Don't be shy... say something!

