Not quite what I was expecting.

I spent much of the day at Monash uni today while our students went through their final rehearsal for the big Winter Concert, which is the musical showcase for the year. While I was there I looked out of the glass doors and saw Patrick, who was the school’s dux last year, chatting to some of the teachers and year 12s. I taught him in year 10, so I wandered out to have a quick word.

He’s doing medicine and really enjoying it.  After a while he looked at his watch and said, “I’d better get going. I have a dissection in 20 minutes.”

“Oh really?” I said, interested. “What are you dissecting?” (thinking maybe an animal or a vital organ of some kind.)

He gave me a sideways look and smiled.

“Actually…. a Mum,” he said.

 

This entry was posted in work. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Not quite what I was expecting.

  1. Ellen says:

    I should imagine he enjoyed that comment, but at least he didn’t say ‘a teacher’.

    I hope the amazingly green chlorophyll paste does the trick and that your son will soon feel more energised. At the very least, you know that he is receiving a good dose of organic, home produced vitamins with no added ‘nasties’. Do let me know if it works, as this summer my get up and go has definitiely got up and gone.

Don't be shy... say something!

