Teachers’ strike day.

P1010140
This is the view from my kitchen window that I saw this morning. I was doing a cooking class last night and the boys were meant to clean the kitchen and put the chooks away. When I got home at 10.45, the kitchen was a mess (Evan15 cleaned it up after I went to bed) and the gerlies were unlooked after. Both the gerls and the boys are SO lucky a fox didn’t take it into her head to come visiting…

Today is the second of a state-wide strike day by public and catholic sector teachers. I’m not striking, as I’m not a member of the union and we were informed that only union members were protected in case of strike action, but I whole heartedly support this strike. Read this article by a former teacher at our school, who clearly articulates why there is such wide-spread resolve among teachers to get things changed. I particularly agree that the way contracts are run should be modified. I think that an initial period of contracts would be good from the school and students’ perspectives, (because then they can get rid of any teachers who aren’t performing well enough, which is fair) but people shouldn’t be led on for year after year with no job security and therefore no way to apply for mortgages, etc. It’s hard living in limbo and it’s very demotivating.

I remember when I went to work at my current school. I was on term by term contracts for around 4 years. It made it really hard, because when the term was drawing to an end I’d get into a cold sweat and start scouring the papers for jobs. I loved the school I was working at, but with no job security it was really hard to set down roots and get attached to your classes, not knowing if you’d continue through with them or not. I was on absolutely minimal child support at that stage (around $20/month) and so the lack of security was extremely draining. The day I was called into the principal’s office and was asked if I wanted to move into a permanent teaching position I still count as one of the best days of my life. I finally knew that I could support my family adequately and also start doing all those extra things I wanted to do, like renovating the kitchen and bathroom and taking them to Bali. It was as if a huge weight had been lifted.

Anyway, time to get organised. The years 7 and 8s are coming to school so I have to go and educate. 🙂

This entry was posted in Children., work. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Teachers’ strike day.

  1. kris says:

    Everyone deserves job security. Working on contracts for years is just wrong. Years 7 and 12 are at school today at my kid’s school, hence my lounge room has five teenagers in it at 9am. (One is mine) My daughter is going to have a great day!

  2. Liz says:

    Can that be right – that only union members are protected in case of strike action – sounds a bit odd to me, but then a great many things sound a bit odd to me… Had a lovely strike day myself – it was really nice to have my daughter off school. Whilst I fully support the teacher and hope the government change their point of view soon, I have to admit to not minding the strikes too much from a selfish point of view as I get some more time with Miss 6.

Don't be shy... say something!

