Happy Birthday to me!!

Started the day with a hearty breakfast of just-laid eggs poached in the thermomix perched upon toast made with home-made bread. Just for clarity, the eggs were perched on the toast, not me.

Evan15 got up and gave me 4 books. Very well chosen… a couple of splatter novels that Blogless Sandy will be happy to borrow after I’ve finished reading them, a book written by a guy who moves into the counrty with his husband and grows food with their adopted kids, and a political novel. (Not too sure about that one but we’ll see.) It’s good when the kids get old enough to actually get good at choosing presents! I still haven’t received any gifts from the other boys… the middle two are waiting on ebay parcels and Tom20 was still in bed when I left.

I walked into the staff room and everyone called out, “Happy Birthday!!” See? Facebook is good for something. I will keep adding to this post during the day as things happen. The bell’s just gone.

12:010PM

Normally I have year 9 English now but they’re away on camp. I was given an extra period one today, which was a year 7 German class. There’s an actual teacher from Germany who’s here on a swap, so she taught the class. When I mentioned it was my birthday she taught the class the German version of the ‘Happy Birthday’ song and then they sang it to me. After the kids had gone at the end of the lesson she told me that it was HER birthday today as well. I had some german lollies from Aldi that I was intending to give out to my classes today, so I gave her a few as a birthday present. Then I went off to period two… 8A.

I gave out the lollies and then realised that I’d grossly underestimated the amount of lollies I’d need for the day. While I was giving 8A a drama class I was wondering if I had enough time to get to Safeway and back during recess. Then I remembered the English Storeroom. Lollies galore in there for Bookclub, so during recess I asked permission, then went down to the classroom and grabbed a bag of fantales. I discovered during period 3, (8E), that fantales are actually really good for teachers because they glue the kids’ jaws together so they find it difficult to talk. I should consider giving them out at every lesson.

I have a free period now, which I should be using to mark year 8 essays, then I have my year 10 ESLs after luch for a double period. We’re going to begin ploughing through ‘Romeo and Juliet’ (poor kids) , though Bec (one of the girls in the class) wished me a Happy Birthday at recess and asked if we could have a Drama lesson instead and play games. I told her maybe for a little bit. It’s funny. The older they get, the more they love games. Until year 12… then they turn serious again.

After I get home tonight I’ll be prepping the fresh ingredients for a thermomix demo I’m doing tonight in Mornington for a blog reader. *waves to Ilona* I might bring a candle to put on top of one of the steamed puddings I make. I’ll be making some phone calls to try and book some demos during the school holidays when I have more time, then I’ll be off driving up the Frankston freeway, singing along to the radio.

Life’s never dull. 🙂

This entry was posted in Just for fun., work. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Happy Birthday to me!!

  1. Catherine says:

    Happy Birthday to you. Sounds like you are off to a good start. Hope the day continues to be brilliant.

  2. peskypixies says:

    Happy birthday!!!

  3. foodnstuff says:

    Happy Birhday from me too. A day late…meant to email yesterday…but the ol’ brain is going to water these days.

  4. Urspo says:

    Many Happy Returns on this feast day of your Nativity !!

  5. Liz says:

    A very Happy Birthday. I wish I had you as a teacher – I can’t remember any of mine giving me lollies.

  6. VioletSky says:

    Happy Birthday – a bit late. But somehow, I suspect you will keep on celebrating in your non-dull-life way!

  7. desdemona20 says:

    Zum Geburtstag viel Glueck!
    Zum Geburtstag viel Glueck!
    Zum Geburtstag liebe Froschtaenzerinnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnn zum Geburtstag viel Glueck!

    😉 September birthday people are lovely. I have two living with me 😉

  8. Dee says:

    Happy belated Birthday from me. September is such a good month to celebrate a birthday isn’t it ?

    Lol

  9. Jenny Howden says:

    Dear Froggie – I can’t believe I have missed your Birthday !! I do so hope you had a lovely day 🙂

Don't be shy... say something!

