A red letter evening.

P1010001

While you’re looking at the photo of the organic lemons we filched rescued from the almost-certain-to-be-knocked-down tree next door, I’ll tell you about the day I had yesterday.

I left the house at 8.30 to go and attend a training class of new consultants. I wasn’t doing the training, but I was observing someone who was. The boys were all still asleep when I left.
I had to leave the class at 1PM to go and do a demo. Fortunately, it was just around the corner from where I was so it was a quick drive. I got there and the woman who was hosting the demo said that she had lemons to make the sorbet with. I’ve never made lemon sorbet, however Evan16 has. I rang him and got the instructions (use the zest of one lemon; 350g of the lemon itself but not the pith. Extract the seeds) and then I was good to go. I asked him if everything was ok back home and he replied that it was “all going swimmingly.”

The demo was a really good one. Three women were there and they all really loved the thermomix. None of them bought on the day but I think they’ll be customers in the future when they work out ways and means. We all had a really good time and after they left the lady of the house and her husband gave me a glass of red and we had a nice chat and then I departed. She actually bought her thermomix the same time I did so we were comparing notes about what we cook. She had the demo so she could buy the half price bowl and blade so she was really happy that she’ll now have 2 for those cooking days when she’s really “in the zone”.

I got back home and two of the boys were out at birthday parties. Evan 16 was on the computer in the lounge room when I walked in. I’d barely set eyes on him all weekend because on Saturday I was out doing a demo and he had his first day ever of working an 8 hour shift at the fruit shop around the corner. 8 hours of standing on your feet is a real killer when you’re not used to it so he had an early night. I was really tired and I said that I didn’t feel like cooking so either David19 or himself was going to have to make something. Then he said…. wait for it….

“Why don’t I take you out to a restaurant for dinner?”

OMG.

So we spruced ourselves up and we went for a walk to the end of the street where the shopping strip is. We chose a Chinese restaurant, went in and he asked for a table for two. We chose our meal: Mongolian beef and teriyaki chicken with a small fried rice. We ate and chatted and it was lovely. We didn’t talk about anything world-shattering, just school and family stuff and we joked and mucked around a lot (because that’s how we roll.)

During dinner he said, “This is pay-back for the time we went out for breakfast. Remember?”

I certainly did, because we only ever did it once, because I never go out for breakfast. It was years ago. He couldn’t have been more than 10 or 11. For some reason he was the only child home one Sunday morning, so I woke him, told him we were going out and we went down to Centre rd and found a cafe.

“I had sausages,” he said.

“I had blueberry pancakes,” I replied.

“Every time I walk past it I still remember it,” he said.

I laughed. “So do I!!”

At the end he asked for the bill. The waitress wasn’t sure who to leave it with so she placed it on the edge of the table in the middle. He took the bill, looked at it, pretended to be shocked by the total and started edging it towards me. Then he laughed, put his cash in the folder and they took it away and came back with his change.

We walked home, bumping into an ex-student on the way who walked with us down to the end of our street. Then we came home.

I can’t tell you how special this was. He’s a wonderful person, the old Evan16. Whoever ends up with him is going to be very lucky.

P1010013

And now I’m going to do a Scarlett O’Hara.

“As the Internet is my witness I’m going to plant out these seedlings TODAY!!!

P1010006

And these leek and lettuce seeds I saved. See the blurry photo? I’m trembling with excitement at the thought of finally getting to it.

P1010009

Remember when I made all that pesto and saved the seeds from the basil? Today the seeds will spring to life!!! Because it’s spring. (heh heh, I crack myself up.)

Incidentally, if anyone’s still reading and they’d like to have a look at the thermomix over the holidays, sing out. I have time during the day for the next two weeks, not just at night and weekends. I have basil seed to give away….. πŸ™‚

I’d rather do demos than housework.

This entry was posted in Children., gardening, Quality of life, vegetables. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to A red letter evening.

  1. sootie 'n' sam says:

    This post just makes me smile and go all warm and fuzzy πŸ™‚ I always used to think that teenage boys should be sent away somewhere until they grow out of the icky angsty teen stuff. Then my son turned into a teen, and I realised how terrific teenage boys are. I ended up witha good one (not my doing – he’s just a good’un), and it seems like you have got yourself a gang of good’uns. And this post just confirms that small special things (like going out for brekky) we do with our kids stay with them as they grow up. πŸ™‚ Boys really are terrific, and must underestimated I think.

  2. kris says:

    So nice! It’s lovely to realise that you have nice kids. Loved this post.

  3. foodnstuff says:

    He wouldn’t be interested in a 69-y-o widow would he? Nah, thought not.

  4. Firbee says:

    Im a bit confused, was it david or Evan who took you out?

  5. Ellen says:

    What a great day for you and Evan to always remember – you sound so happy – and such a deserving Mum to be spoiled.

  6. Oh, that makes me smile so much!

Don't be shy... say something!

