Speaking about veggie growing.

GORDON RAMSAY

This made me smile!

It’s amazing how much my herbs and veggies have grown in a week. The weeds have also taken off as well, which hardly seems fair. The apple trees are full of blossom and my dwarf nectarine has three little fruits forming.

I have to do a talk at a meeting for the thermomix at the end of the month. Guess what I’ll be speaking about? Growing your own fruit and veggies (and chooks, probably) and why we should all be doing it, even in a small way. I’ll show photos and bring in my stash of seeds and some small envelopes so people can take some away and start planting. Then I’ll make them this. (I’m not sure how I’ll link it in… it looks a bit heartless on the face of it, doesn’t it? “Once your chook stops laying eggs, here’s what you can do with her!”) Ah well, I’ve got a couple of weeks to come up with a slightly more caring link.

I really like the idea of combining what I’m doing in the garden with what I’m doing in the kitchen and also talking about the many benefits to the whole family about growing some of your own food.

Don’t you love it when different strands of your life combine?

 

This entry was posted in gardening. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Speaking about veggie growing.

  1. Ellen says:

    I took a peek at the recipe which looks delicious and very dooable, even for those of us who are still thermomixless:( – and WOW! – it’s your very own thermomix recipe! I was very impressed, it looks so professional.
    As for what to do with the gerls when they ‘retire’, your comment reminded me of my mother. As a young woman she was in the Land Army and owned her own goats and chickens. Whenever she comes to visit (which is most weekends) she never fails to tell me to take the two old chickens to the butchers and ask him to ‘prepare’ them, and that he keeps one and I take one home for dinner. That’s about as likely to happen as me growing wings and flying loop-the-loop over the garden Mind you I’d like to see the expression on the butchers face. Mothers…

    • Frogdancer says:

      I’d love to take credit for that recipe, but I adapted it from one that I’d had for years from the Simple Savings forum. I wasn’t sure if it would work in the thermomix, so I had a crack at it and it was easy…. easier than the stove so I wrote it up and put it onto the forum. I wonder if my butcher here would be up to the challenge of the old hen? Frogdancer

      > Date: Sat, 13 Oct 2012 09:34:41 +0000 > To: frogdancer01@hotmail.com >

Don't be shy... say something!

