A special evening. With added worms.

P1010003

I’m a MUM!!!!

These things are mealworms. Shane was very generous at the gardening club and I came home with lots of things. I have to buy some brewers yeast to sprinkle in there, but apparently both chooks and humans can eat them. However, even Shane admits that you’d have to eat a good many of them and be quite desperately hungry to want to rely on them for a protein source! The carrot is their water source… that’s all they need. Amazing, hey?

P1010002

I also came home with some quail eggs. How amazing do these look? I haven’t tasted them yet but I’ll cook them up for breakfast tomorrow morning and see what they taste like. I’ll feel very Brideshead Revisited… Sebastian served quail eggs in his rooms at Oxford, as I recall.

P1010004

Shane also gave me some pepino cuttings. I hope they’re hardy because it’s only while I’m typing this that I realised that I haven’t watered them since I plonked them in the ground. (Sorry Shane..) Must get onto that. It might have to wait until tomorrow morning though.

Tonight is a very special night. The class of 2012 have their Valedictory dinner. Some of you were around three years ago and know just how much of a milestone tonight is and how very lucky I feel that I’m able to attend with my boy in such shining health. He has his first year 12 exam tomorrow (Drama) and then his music exam is the next day. No partying hard for him!

But it’s a night I’m so very proud and fortunate to be going to.

(Thanks Scott! I won’t ever forget you taking my classes and being there when I needed you. I wish you were here tonight. There are other people who were also a fabulous support, but most of them shall remain nameless. I will never forget the help and support you gave me and you’ll always be forever special.)

Anyway, I’ve got to get to Caulfield Racecourse for the shindig. It starts in 35 minutes and I have to make myself beautiful. Wish me luck!

This entry was posted in chickens, pets, vegetables. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A special evening. With added worms.

  1. Very happy for you Frogdancer, and happy for your young man in question too!
    Enjoy.

  2. scottsabode says:

    Congratulations to you both – and the mealworms!

  3. Liz says:

    I assume by now you will have had a fabulous evening…and hopefully dined on something more delicious than mealworm.

Don't be shy... say something!

