Sleep is for the weak… (and repeat)

Saw this and had a chuckle. Thought you might too.

P1010004
This was yesterday morning’s haul. The mini capsicum was from the over-wintered capsicum bush in one of the wicking beds. Cute, isn’t it? This morning I went to let the chooks out and there were 5 eggs waiting for me. I got very congratulatory towards the gerls for a second, but then realised that the boys probably forgot to get the eggs when they put the gerls to bed last night so that was yesterday’s effort. Still, we’re way past 700 eggs so far this year, so I’m pretty happy with that.

Oh! I also made some soap. Lime and poppy seed. Smells divine.

Some people have been asking me how I’m doing for Hong Kong. Remember the free trip I could win? I had to amass 40 points (a mix of sales and recruiting) between July and November. Well….

I have 7 points to go. I’ve decided to pull out all the stops (short of actually buying 7 thermomixes myself, of course!) and really go for it. So for every purchase for the rest of the month I’m adding a beautiful cookbook worth $50 to the rest of the cookbooks (and red apron) that people can get. It’s a pretty good deal, particularly with the 12 months interest-free.

Actually, speaking about that, I was at a meeting last night and someone mentioned about how you can pay as little as $15/week before Christmas… then ramp up the payments after Christmas and still get the benefit of the interest-free period. That hadn’t occurred to me before. (I only have the mortgage so I’m not very savvy when it comes to working the system with things like this.)

Anyway! November has been and will continue to be a busy month. I started the new duties as a Junior Group Leader, so there’s a lot more running around and being Very Organised with all of that. (Scott is probably laughing hysterically at that as he swans around St Petersburg with his friends.) Meanwhile, I’m busy marking all of the essays and other sundry bits and bobs of work as we approach exam time. I have 3 classes this year doing exams so now comes the “head down, bum up” stage of a teacher’s life until the reports are done.

Meanwhile, David19 has only one exam to go and then he’s a free man. That’s music on Friday. Ryan17 starts his year 11 exams today. HIS lone year 12 subject (Geography) is also on Friday. Evan 16 starts exams next week, which is when my exam marking begins. It’s all happening, baby!

At the meeting last night I won a prize for being the first person to make 50 sales from Chris’s group. I won a $100 voucher for a day spa in Brighton. The last time I had a facial was when I was 22 or thereabouts, so I’m pretty excited. I was also pretty appalled when I looked at the prices. My eyes don’t need massaging for $75 a pop! Most facials start as $160, but clever me found a massage package for $120, so I’m going to go for that. I don’t mind paying $20 for an hour long massage. 🙂 I’m saving it up for December, hopefully as a little celebration for making it to Hong Kong.

I’m actually pretty excited about the prospect of winning that trip. Seven sales is a lot to get in a couple of weeks, but I figure I’m so close I might as well have a real crack at it. If I fall short at least I can know that I didn’t give up and I really tried. But gee…. imagine if I DID do it! Imagine getting on that plane and feeling it take off and knowing that I’m actually going to see someplace totally new! Imagine knowing that some poor sod is taking my classes and I’m off shopping and seeing things I’ve never seen before! I’ve always longed to travel and I haven’t been able to do much of it. I blame the four children who absolutely insisted on being born (it wasn’t my fault!) and then the practical side of me which insisted that buying and hanging onto the house was more important than seeing Hampton Court Palace. Stupid kids and practical side!!

So even though Hong Kong isn’t at the top of my list of places to go to and people to see… if they’re offering it – I’ll take it, thanks very much! It’s also a real challenge. I’m eager to see if I can do it. Seriously… wish me luck. I’m going to need it. (And if your great aunt Edna wants to have a look at a thermomix, let me know and we’ll set up a demo. November 30 is fast approaching!! I’m getting a bit antsy…. can you tell?)

My new mantra: ‘Sleep is for the weak. Sleep is for the weak.”
Or maybe sleep is for during that massage I’ll be having next month?

This entry was posted in chickens, Children., gardening, Just for fun., thermomix, vegetables, wicking beds. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Sleep is for the weak… (and repeat)

  1. Liz says:

    I hope you get there! Good Luck.

  2. Urspo says:

    oh boy; I liked the hobbity fellow with the red hair and red collar.

  3. Bek says:

    Well done and good luck for the rest of the month. Enjoy the massage, you’ve surely worked hard enough for it!

  4. Isabelle says:

    I certainly hope you make it!

Don't be shy... say something!

