Making coffee in the thermomix.

I was training some new consultants on the weekend and the question came up about how to make coffee. I was working with a highly experienced consultant who’s had her thermomix for 8 years and she sent this around to all the participants. I thought I’d post it here for people who weren’t at the training. I love that I have a coffee machine in my kitchen that does a gazillion other things as well!

*****

How to answer the coffee question at demonstrations.

If the question comes up about coffee at a demo and they have a coffee machine – I say – “the Thermomix doesn’t replace your coffee machine; it partners your coffee machine by frothing the milk. However if you don’t have a coffee machine then the Thermomix is the next best solution to making fresh coffee at home”.

Some people have expressed that they prefer coffee made in the Thermomix rather than in their coffee machine. Personally I find that it makes a better long black than 99% of good coffee shops. The coffee I have at cafes is often burnt!

I have tried many ways of straining the coffee to remove the coffee grounds and the only satisfactory solution is to use a plunger because of the double mesh system. (My edit: then you can put the used grounds in the garden!)

Give it a go.

Janine

Coffee made in the Thermomix by Janine Babauskis

Ingredients

  • 100g of coffee beans (10 serves)
  • Water – 150mls per serve (280ml cup)
  • Milk  – 100mls per serve

Method

Grind coffee for 1 minute, speed 8

Add 10grams of ground coffee to the TM for each serve

Add 150mls of water per serve and heat, 70°C, speed 1 (approximately 4 minutes for 4 serves)

Pre-heat cups and plunger pot with boiling water.

Pour coffee into a plunger pot after 1minute standing in the TM bowl.

Rinse the TM and add milk, heat at 70°C speed 1. Once milk has reached the set temperature, froth by increasing to speed 8 for 20 seconds. You now have your milk for your flat white, latte or cappuccino.

Pour 120mls of coffee into each cup and add milk to taste.

For your long black pour boiled water from the kettle into a cold cup and then top up with the coffee made in the TM. This will retain the beautiful coffee flavour.

For maximum froth on milk leave the MC out. You can place the steaming basket on top to stop any splashing.

Note

Adjust the strength according to taste by increasing/decreasing the amount of ground coffee per serve or add less/more milk. The coffee and milk are best heated at 70°C to retain their true flavour. (Coffee will be burnt and the milk scolded which alters the flavour if heated on higher temperatures) For a long black, add 200mls of water to the TM Bowl and one serving of coffee, following the method above. This is a very quick method, producing a great tasting coffee.

General Tips

I have used all variations of milk and they all give different results regarding the froth. I use raw milk and get a great froth. I was told that the lower fat milk varieties produce more froth. I haven’t found this to be so. For health reasons I use full cream unhomogonised milk or raw milk. Experiment with the different types of milk yourself, starting with your preferred weekly purchase.

******

There! My customers have already had this emailed to them, but I know there’s other people who’ll find it useful. Just recently, another teacher came into the staff room asking if anyone had a coffee machine because they wanted to give away a bag of coffee beans that was left over from a huge fund-raiser we had. I put up my hand and said, “I could use them!”

Another teacher, who’s a bit scathing of the thermomix because of the price, looked at me, surprised, and said,” I wouldn’t have pictured you with a coffee machine.”

It was so sweet to be able to smile and say, “Really? One word…. Thermomix. Why are you so surprised?”

He face-palmed and said, “I should’ve known….!”

This entry was posted in recipe, thermomix. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Making coffee in the thermomix.

    • Frogdancer says:

      I drink coffee in the mornings before I go to work; green tea with mint during the day and a peppermint tea at bedtime. On the weekends and school holidays I drink all sorts of herbal teas that I grow here. The school supplies the green tea so that’s why it’s my tipple of choice during term-time. (If you can call tea a tipple!)

      > Date: Fri, 16 Nov 2012 04:34:50 +0000 > To: frogdancer01@hotmail.com >

  1. Hi there, I want to subscribe for this blog to take latest updates, thus where can i do it please help.

    • Frogdancer says:

      I put every blog I want to keep track of in my Google Reader. Really easy to set up.
      Just go to the site, set up an account and then pop the blogs onto it. Every time there’s a new post it shows up, so you don’t waste time clicking on them every day. You only go to them if you want to leave a comment. Saves HEAPS of time.
      Hope that helps!

  2. Pingback: Reasons to have a Thermomix … some useful links | meandmyThermie

  3. Anthony says:

    To make 1.2 liter of iced coffee I followed your method to the filtering stage, using 100 gm. of beans and 750ml of water. Then returned the plunger filtered coffee to the TM (some liquid is lost in the grounds) and added 500ml. milk and sugar, to TM on 1min., 0C, speed 3, then poured the milk coffee into a jug & into the fridge, nice with a scoop of vanilla icecream. Try not to drink it all in one day unless you want to be awake for 24/7.

  4. whitehawkjulie says:

    Do you put the water into the ground beans in the thermomix, cold? You don’t heat it first?

    Thanks
    Julie

  5. Susan says:

    I just want to say thank you for the coffee making instructions. Hubby bought 1kg beans without realising they needed grinding!!! Thanks to handy thermomix and your help I now grind 100g beans as required and store freshly ground in fridge. He now ‘gets’ the thermomix, maybe one day he’ll use it…

  6. Janet Meisel says:

    I’m very new to Thermomix but I’m wondering if there’s any way you can use the steamer basket and coffee filter paper to replicate a drip filter coffee maker? I know the process is steaming rather than direct flow through of boiling water but I’d be interested to know what you think?

  7. May Jane says:

    Stunning, thanks. Did you know you can also make tea? My favourite recipe:

    1 use one bag per person
    2 add 200mls water per person
    3 add 25mls milk per person (or leave it out of you like black tea)
    4 blend at speed 7 for 1 minute
    5 heat at 100c, speed 1 for 5 minutes
    6 strain using a coffee plunger to remove the leaves/paper
    7 enjoy!

Don't be shy... say something!

