A Big Step.

 

Guess what I did on Monday morning before work?

I went into my Thermomix account, where I’ve kept every penny I’ve been paid since February. I left 1/3 in there for when I eventually get my tax done, because I know I’ll have to pay extra tax for the first time ever…. and then I swooped in and paid 10K off my mortgage.

I can’t tell you how good that made me feel. I’ve saved MONTHS of my time by working hard in the short term. Europe in 2015 is looking good. (Scott… I’m reserving your guest room for term 2. Don’t forget!!)

Now I’m waiting to see how much less I’m paying in interest each month. I have the goal firmly in place to be debt-free by the time Evan16 finishes secondary school. Two years to go.

(Would it be crazy to accelerate that…? Hmmmmmmmm…..)

Only 66K to go!!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to A Big Step.

  1. sootie 'n' sam says:

    Well done!! It’s a great feeling watching the mortage shrink ๐Ÿ™‚ It goes down a bit quicker if you pay a little bit extra more often that waiting to save a large sum for one extra large payment.

  2. Jools says:

    I am so happy for you. I have my eye on saving for a new car, nothing flash, just something more realiable, at present I am driving an old girl as my kia rio’s engine blew up 3 months ago… and I could only afford this little girl I have- she goes alright and will keep me going until I am ready to pay CASH ๐Ÿ˜‰

  3. Catherine says:

    Doing the happy dance for you. What an amazing effort and so well deserved.

  4. foodnstuff says:

    Well done! All that hard work paying off is something to be so proud of.

  5. nicole says:

    WOW! So awesome!

    I’m assuming you’ll visit germany while you’re doing your europe tour, and you’re hereby invited to spend some time in my messy little house, if you want to, that is ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Jo says:

    That is so awesome, well done!!!!

Don't be shy... say something!

