Getting things done.

P1010001

Plum jam made for casseroles over winter. Done! We don’t eat a lot of jam in this house, but late last winter I found the perfect casserole recipe to use up plum jam and it made it onto the regular rotation in the Frogdancer houehold. It’s particularly good when you’re in a rush.

I used this recipe for the plum jam. I’d run out of Jamsetta and I had 3 pkts of the CSR jam setting sugar in the pantry that I bought on sale a year ago so I thought I’d give it a go. Waste not, want not! It worked a treat, so I devoted the day to just keeping the thermomix ticking over while I pottered around doing other things.

Base for a Plum sauce casserole

1/2 cup plum jam

1/4 cup worcestershire sauce

1/4 cup tomato sauce.

Mix together, add 500g or thereabouts of meat, veggies etc and cook in a casserole dish in the oven at 180C for 90 mins or so, depending on the cut of meat you used.

P1010002

I still have a few plums left over. Ran out of jars!
***

When I was 40 I had my eyes lasered to fix up extreme short-sightedness. They said that I’d need to get reading glasses in 5 years or so, due to getting elderly, but it’s been 9 years and I’ve been fine. Until recently, when I’ve noticed that I’ve been starting to hold things further and further away from me. Time to get glasses!
Right from when I had my eyes lasered I’ve been looking forward to this day, because I’ve ALWAYS had to have clunky big frames that needed to be sturdy to hold in my coke-bottle lenses. I dreamed of the day when I could get whispy little girly frames or even *gasp!* rimless glasses because the lenses would be thin and easy.
Naturally, the fashion in 2013 is for big clunky frames, isn’t it? Should’ve known!
I took David19 in with me because his sense of style is amazing whereas mine is … um… “indy” as Ryan18 puts it. He chose from my shortlist of 6 frames and I pick them up in a week or so. Another job done!

***
P1010003

A few days ago we had a blisteringly hot day and I left my black crocs out on the back porch and they shrunk. I have another pair of crocs that are slightly too big, so yesterday I left them out there again.
Another job done! I can wear them now.
And I’m still wearing the other black crocs. My toes are slightly scrunched up but I’m persevering.

***
I rang up a cleaning lady. She’s popping over this afternoon and we’ll talk turkey. Another job done! Hopefully this time by her.

***
My fridge’s drip tray at the back has been filling up with water for about a year now. I’ve tried unblocking it by pouring boiling water in it and prodding it with a bamboo skewer but nothing worked, so every couple of days I’ve been putting a face washer in it and soaking out the excess water. I’m having to do it every day now so clearly now that the holidays are here I have to get it looked at. That happens tomorrow.
The griller on our oven hasn’t worked in two years. Organised for an oven guy to come around and fix that too.
The Telstra guy is here right now changing our internet and phone from Optus to Telstra for Ryan18’s birthday present.
Done! Done! Done!

***
The garden doesn’t have much in it to harvest but the herbs are going really well. I’ve been drying heaps of peppermint, pineapple sage, lime verbena and basil mint (OMG! So good!) to use for herbal teas throughout the year.

***
Watched all of ‘The Walking Dead’. Such a good show. Anyone who also has a taste for a good ol’ zombie apocalypse should get onto it and start watching.
I’ve also been making my way through the books the kids gave me for Christmas, interspersed with a few books that i bought for myself. Just after I bought them, Tom 20 showed me how to get the kindle app for my ipad, so I’ve downloaded a few free books on that for later in the year. I didn’t think I’d like reading books on the ipad, but it’s surprisingly good.

***

Ryan18 had a friend sleep over last night. The poor kid had had a fight with his folks and had been kicked out of home. He spent the first night in a park, then stayed here. I made sure he texted his Mum to let her know that he was ok, because otherwise can you imagine what hell she’d be going through not knowing if he was ok? He’s a nice kid… though he’s a gamer just like Ryan18. They stayed up till 4AM playing games on the internet. I get the impression that this has happened before and when Dad cools down he’s allowed to go back home. Obviously I don’t know all the ins and outs but I’m happy to give him a bed for a little while until things sort themselves out.
(Hope he likes plum jam!!)

That’s it for now. The Telstra guy has left so now I have to contact all of the service providers who have my old Optusnet email address as their reference and get them to change it.
Such a pain… I’ve had that email address for as long as I’ve been on the internet, so I have no idea how many businesses I’ll need to contact. Oh well! I guess that why God invented holidays…

This entry was posted in dehydrating food, gardening, holidays, pets, recipe, shopping, Skinflint, thermomix. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Getting things done.

  1. Avital says:

    Have you tried fiddling with your fridges temperature control? I had the same water dripping in the back problem, so I made it colder, and then I had icicles, then I made it a bit warmer and the water has gone away. I don’t know whether the warmer is warmer than it was when the water was dripping, or whether it was just warmer than icicles, because I wasn’t clever enough to keep track, but it might be worth trying before paying a repair person to come look at it. It took a couple days for the temperature to even out for mine.

  2. Catherine says:

    Wow you are on a roll. Thanks for the plum jam/sauce casserole recipe. We used to eat heaps of plum jam but have slacked off the past few years but I still have plenty of jam in the cool room so will give it a go. Must be the year for eye tests. Booked my test not long ago. It’s not even six months since I had them last tested but my eyes have deteriorated so much – I can’t even see to knit without my glasses…shock horror…vbg. Can’t wait to see your new glasses. No doubt they will be gorgeous.

  3. Urspo says:

    Better get yourself some black cha cha heels rather.

  4. ooo I am in love with look of your jam! and in a casserol yum. xx

  5. kris says:

    I love that you have taken that young man in. No matter what the go is, it is never ok for someone to sleep rough. Good on you for the text message too.

Don't be shy... say something!

