It worked!!!

P1010022

I tried making sourdough bread this morning. Remember a couple of weeks ago I said I was starting a sourdough starter? I’m a woman of my word and I did just that. I put it on the bench, fed it every day and was all set to make bread a week after it began. But you know how life gets busy? I kept feeding it and and feeding it, until Friday morning I decided to stop procrastinating and actually make a dough and see if it worked.

I looked up a bread recipe from the people who put up the sourdough starter recipe and was a little annoyed to find that when I measured it out that their recipe required double the amount of starter that I had available. (Their website is called Root Simple… which is always guaranteed to have Aussies going, “Really??? ” and sniggering. Their website is down at the moment so I can’t link to it.) But I decided to forge ahead anyway, thinking that flatbread is still nice to eat.

I had to weigh the ingredients and knead the dough (thank you *Uma!) and then it had to sit out on the bench for 3 hours to prove. After that it was to be put in the fridge. I wasn’t going to be home but a quick lunchtime phone call to Tom21 solved that problem. The dough stayed in the fridge till this morning.

I pulled it out and looked at it for any sign of rising, considering it only had half the proper amount of sourdough starter in it. It didn’t look all that promising, but I decided that I was hungry and I was going to have a crack at it regardless. I let it warm up for an hour or so sitting over some boiling water so the steam could warm up its bottom, then I’d had enough of waitng and threw it in the oven. I did the same as we do in demos… put it into a cold oven and let it cook for 30 mins at 200C.

Then when the rolls were done, Evan16 and I tasted them. The verdict?

P1010023

Very pleasantly surprised by the lightness of the bread and the texture. It was a pleasure to eat.

P1010024

Just LOOK at that air bubble – not bad considering it only had half the amount of starter in it.
The taste? The merest hint of sourdough, which was what I expected considering it was the first time I used the starter and the fact that there wasn’t much in it to begin with.

All in all though, a very satisfying result. I’ve massively bumped up the amount of flour I’m feeding it with each day so that from now on I can get a decent amount of sourdough starter to play with. I was at a demo last weekend and one of the women there said that a friend of hers has a sourdough starter that she’s had going for over a year. Imagine the depth of flavour she’d be getting by now!

Anyway, here’s a few other things I’ve stumbled across as I wander the World Wide Web.

Rob has done a very useful post about propagating strawberries from runners.Ā We have a heap of them at the moment and today is the only day I have any time at all to give to the garden. It won’t take much time at all to pop the runners down into pots and Future Frogdancer will thank me next year as I’m tucking into strawberries from the garden. I’ve really loved eating my breakfast CADA and having my home-made yoghurt with home-grown strawbs on the top.

I’ve been reading Rhubarb Whine for a few years now and she suddenly surprised me with a post on why she ended up buying a thermomix. Interesting hearing about it from a foodie’s point of view, as I’m SO not a foodie. The weird thing is reading the comments section… a tree-hugging hippie has decided to try hijacking the conversation. *sigh* It’s people like this that give Transcendental Meditation a bad name.

This looks like my next knitting project. I’m still on a mission to work through my stash of wool before I buy any more, so even though my free time has drastically reduced, I’m still keen to get it done. I did NO knitting last winter and the last quilt I made was in the last summer holidays for a friend. I really need to get my crafting mojo back.

And finally, I don’t own a sun shade for the car but I’d totally get one like this!

Sun Shade WIN

*Uma is the name I call my thermomix. Uma Thermo-mix-an.

This entry was posted in gardening, knitting, thermomix, vegetables. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to It worked!!!

  1. Tree hugging hippie. ROFL. She sure was on something! I’m posting a thermie bread recipe later – so freaking easy.

  2. Urspo says:

    oh but I love homemade bread; i miss it so !

  3. Liz says:

    Its been ages (Puberty Blues aside) since I’ve heard the term ‘root’ and isn’t it fab? Incidentally your link to the strawberry runners doesn’t seem to work – for me anyway….

  4. Snoskred says:

    That meditation chick was 100% a spammer. I get them all the time on my blog, taking issue with something I have written, or trying to get into an argument and make their comment look legit when really all they want is the link back to their site. šŸ˜¦

    I usually can see exactly what they searched for in my wordpress stats and then see their spam comment on the related post.

    I don’t completely understand sourdough bread, to be honest. I don’t get it. I’ve tried it, not a big fan of it. Then again I am trying to cut down on the grains.

    It sounds to me like a thermomix might be a good answer to going paleo which I have recently tried and will be doing again after a short break on holidays.. I struggled to make nut butter in my food processor, and I would like to make coconut oil and butter too, just not sure my processor will be up to the task.

    If they ever have that interest free deal again and you can deliver to the South Coast of NSW.. perhaps as a holiday break – maybe we can do a deal. šŸ™‚ Or you can put me in touch with someone here, I guess. I’d rather it be you, though!

    • Frogdancer says:

      Of course you’re right about the spammer. As soon as I started reading your comment I realised…. because of course that’s what you know how to spot at 50 paces. I should’ve realised myself… I’ve read your blog ebnough to know. And also you’re dead right about the thermomix. It’s excellent for paleo diets; (I have a few customers who bought for that reason), and nut butters like peanut, almond, cashew etc re a breeze to whip up. The cookbook that comes with it has recipes for peanut butter and nutella. (Not sure just how ‘paleo’ the nutella is, but it’s nice to know that you can make up a healthier version. OR a more adult version using dark chocolate. ) The first thing I made in Uma was butter, with the added bonus of buttermilk for the BEST pancakes. I’d love to put you in front of a thermomix. You were so great to me when you were hosting my blog and technological awful things happened and you fixed them in a blink of an eye. I was so grateful. I’ve sold thermomixes interstate to Kathryn in NSW and Erin in SA and it’s really easy. We just do the deal over the phone and then I get someone from your area to deliver it to you. That way I get credit for the sale and they get $100 for doing the delivery to you and showing you how to use it. (Hmmm….South Coast NSW sounds good for a holiday drive though…..) If you want to find do out about the payment options (there are a few of them) then when you’re up for a chat feel free to email me your number (or ask for mine) and I’ll call you and we can have a yack. (It’ll be like meeting a rock star.. Snoskred in person!!!)

      > Date: Sat, 9 Feb 2013 11:33:29 +0000 > To: frogdancer01@hotmail.com >

      • Snoskred -About the tree hugging hippie chick – you are more likely to be right than not, I agree. But I edited her link (by deleting 2 letters) in her first (and third?) comment. She didn’t include her link in the other two.

        Froggie – I posted the basil bread. So easy and so good.

  5. sootie says:

    Just followed the strawberry link and have now become enamoured with growing a strawberry wall!! Thanks for the link šŸ™‚

Don't be shy... say something!

