Skinflint Sun… er… Thursday. Use up leftover food in other meals.

Parmesan cheese rind

Loved this hint about using the rind from parmesan cheese that I saw on Root Simple. I pinched their photo, seeing as I was sending you over to their blog anyway.

Speaking of using up things in other meals, last night I was making a chicken casserole with plum sauce and I opened the fridge to get the plum jam I made and there was a pot of green leafy dip that I made for the team meeting I had here on Monday night. (I’ll put the link at the bottom of this post because it has a recipe for crackers with it as well which are SO EASY!) I looked at it meditatively… but quickly, because all of the cold air was coming out of the fridge. The ingredients were spinach and salad leaves, almonds I’d ground up, garlic and oil and vinegar. Why couldn’t I just throw it all into the casserole to thicken it up and add extra flavour?

The answer? There’s no good reason why not so I did it. Inspired move, as it turns out. That meal was delicious.

Thermomix recipe: Trio of homemade dips with crackers

This entry was posted in cooking, Quality of life, recipe. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Skinflint Sun… er… Thursday. Use up leftover food in other meals.

  1. Urspo says:

    I Love to eat parm cheese but when really starving I will go so far as to eat the rind – yes i know bad.

  2. Lauren says:

    I love that you are including recipes each post. I have a Thermomix and need more inspiration. Thank you.

  3. Liz says:

    I use ground almonds to thicken stews from time to time too – they work really well.

Don't be shy... say something!

