Skinflint Sunday: Make your own goats cheese.

I made goats cheese!

Oh My Goodness.

I’m overcome with my own brilliance as a cook. I just made goats cheese.

Goats cheese. I know!!!!!!

I saw the recipe months ago and filed it away in the back of my mind to try ‘one day’. Yesterday I was in the supermarket and I saw a litre of goats milk and thought I’d give this a bash. All I needed as the goats milk, lemon juice and salt. How low maintenance is that?

When I got home I was a bit nervous about making it. So I didn’t do it. I mean… what if it didn’t work? Then I’d be disappointed. So I drank red wine and watched a dull movie on TV and went to bed early.

But this morning I woke up fired up! I raced out to the thermomix at the crack of dawn, (well…. I had a couple of coffees first), and got started. Honestly, it was ridiculously easy. You just heat the milk to 90C for 15 mins (ie Just push a couple of buttons and then go and read some blogs) and then add lemon juice and then drain it to the consistency you prefer. Then add salt and put it into a ramekin and take a photo. Easy!

I’m planning home-made pizzas tonight so I made it dry and crumbly, but can you imagine making it spreadable and mixing it with herbs? Imagine putting fresh goats cheese on crackers….mmmmmmm.

Thermomix recipe: Goats cheese
ps. Now I think I want a mini goat…

This entry was posted in cooking, Quality of life, Skinflint, thermomix. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Skinflint Sunday: Make your own goats cheese.

  1. nicole says:

    lactose free cheese 🙂

    It’s great in lasagna instead of the white sauce. It’s like cream cheese really 🙂

  2. Liz says:

    We had goats when I was growing up – two of them but that was in the country and even then they were an absolute nightmare – they eat everything, escaped through all manner of fencing, one become angry goat and would charge anyone who entered into the paddock and both ended by dying in unfortunate accidents. I really wouldn’t recommend them…although the goats cheese would be a plus. Ours were boys so didn’t even provide that level of compensation.

  3. Frogdancer says:

    But imagine a mini goat called Milly….. she’d be cute and we could take her for walks….

  4. Urspo says:

    how marvelous!
    If I had the means I would make goats cheese regularly.

Don't be shy... say something!

