Why are the holidays so short?

Grammar Is the Key to Expression

Even in the holidays I like a good English Teacher meme.

The holidays are drawing to a close. Readers who’ve been with me for a while will know that I’m usually torn between a feeling of mourning, mixed with frenetic activity as I suddenly realise that I haven’t made much of a dent in the list of Things To Get Done When I Have Time. Sadly, these holidays are no exception.

Lots of reading, nanna naps, puddling around doing bits and pieces….. bliss. But this morning I woke up with a slight feeling of panic. Only 4 days to go.

So naturally here I am at 9AM in my pjs at the computer, typing away. Maybe I’ll start the running around like a headless chook at 10. Might watch Dr Phil at 12. Haven’t seen a lot of eps these holidays, but the ones I have seen have been satisfyingly full of crazy people. *I feel so normal*

I bought 10 deep plastic tubs to turn into wicking boxes. The wicking concept has worked brilliantly so far, so I want to transfer a lot of my herbs and green leafy plants to wicking pots using my own compost. It’ll take time to fill them all, but time is all compost has. I also have a heap of worm castings from the freezer worm farm, so that’ll be useful as well.  David2 has been making a protein smoothie before uni most days, so I have to grow lots of leaves. Lots. He’s a hungry lad.

I’d start filling the tubs immediately if I only had a drill to make the drainage holes in the tubs. Must get onto that. It’s on the list…

Thermomix recipe: Mayonaise + Yoghurt/dill dressing

 

This entry was posted in balance, chickens, Children., cleaning, cooking, dehydrating food, Fruit trees, gardening, holidays, Independence Days challenge, Just for fun., knitting, pets, Quality of life, reading, shopping, soap making, solar cooking, vegetables, wicking beds, writing. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Why are the holidays so short?

  1. nicole says:

    You can probably use a hammer and a nail to make the holes. I made holes in my big plastic cement tub last year that way, but it’s kind of rubbery plastic. Maybe use a really thin nail to see if the tubs hold up to the hammering without splitting.

  2. foodnstuff says:

    Questions:

    a) what size are the tubs?
    b) where did you get them?
    c) could we see a photo?

  3. mamavee says:

    If you don’t have a drill, you could heat a metal skewer in a flame and punch it through. (I have a gas stove, so doing this is not that difficult) But you really should get a drill.

  4. Urspo says:

    I am taking a history of the English language, and I learned punctuation was (once upon a time) use for the ‘ear’ – written for breaths and verbal pauses. Only later on it was devised for ‘the eye’ or reading English.

  5. jesskawrites says:

    I’m soo glad I’m not the only one to think the tubs are silly. I spent AAAAAAAAGES not planting my tubs too. I eventually bought a drill.. no idea what else I’ll ever need to drill holes in, but at least my balcony tubs have drainage holes 😉 (I put the holes halfway up the sides, so that the earth doesn’t dry out so quickly/I don’t have to water them so often),

  6. Loving your thermomix links each post. I’m getting quite a collection. 🙂

Don't be shy... say something!

