Knitting and breadmaking.

Knit or Die

I loathe tattoos, but if a gun was held to my head and I had to get one… I’d consider this.

I saw this post through a couple of links: imagine knitting a shawl from wool from your own sheep!

I’ve earmarked this pattern as a way to get back into knitting again. I was so busy last year I didn’t pick up the needles, but I still want to get rid of my yarn stash. Clearly, just thinking about knitting doesn’t actually reduce the size of it at all. Doesn’t seem fair, really. I have this morning off and so I might get around to actually going through the stash and pulling out some 8 ply. Might finally get that soap made, too…

I’m also going to try a new recipe for my sourdough starter. The one I was using takes a fair bit of mucking around, so I’m going to try something a little less involved. I came across a recipe on a new-to-me blog, from a woman who’s had her thermomix at least since 2009 , (that’s when her blog starts), so I’m thinking she must know what she’s talking about. I’ll have a go today and report back with how it goes.

I’ve made a couple of loaves from my starter and the texture is lovely, but the sourdough taste isn’t as strong as I’d like. I figure that it just has to get a bit older, perhaps…?

Thermomix recipe: Sourdough Bread.

This entry was posted in cooking, knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Knitting and breadmaking.

  1. nicole says:

    Yeah, Sourdough starter gets better as it ages. Can you maybe get a starter from a healthfood shop? Here you can get them in liquid form sometimes, they’re a lot more mature and therefore taste more like, well, sourdough…

  2. Kate says:

    Loved the shawl and the idea of making something from start to finish. However I don’t think you should try it with your “Shawn the sheep” things might get a bit prickly!! I will be very interested in how you go with the sourdough. Just love the taste. Have a very productive day.

  3. Urspo says:

    no tattoos for me either (or is that neither?)

  4. Liz says:

    My mum used to knit us jumpers with wool that she’d spun from our own sheep and then died using eucalyptus leaves. Needless to say that at 12 I didn’t appreciate them…. I would now though but she doesn’t spin much anymore.

  5. Liz says:

    woops dyed.

Don't be shy... say something!

