Skinflint Sunday: Use what you have.

I have to confess that this tickles me a lot more than it should. It’s nonsensical really. Who cares if a bottle of perfume gets fully used up?

As it turns out… I do. I’ve never forgotten visiting someone years ago and seeing a basket FULL of opened perfume bottles in her bedroom. There must have been about 20 of them in there. She said that she used them according to the mood she was in, which on one level I understood… but it was the sheer number and waste that snagged in my mind! There’s no way she’d use any of them up and it seemed a bit ridiculous to me. Use 3 or 4 – not 20!

I’ve always had one, or at the most two, perfume bottles on the go. When they started to get low, I’d pass them across to my sister to give to the girls. They could have fun spritzing themselves with French perfume and I could get started on a new scent. But in the last couple of years my sister has taken the girls overseas a couple of times so I assume they’ve now got their own duty-free perfume they’re using, so I kept on going with this one… the last perfume from Phuket.

It began to be a bit of a quest. I’d spray it on every morning then look at the level in the bottle. How long would it be till it’s gone? Would I get another month? Fortnight?Is it against the rules to put an extra spray of scent on? Hey…. I find my fun where I can, ok?

Anyway, it won’t be long now! And once the Allure is used up I have a choice. Mum and Dad gave me some Elizabeth Taylor ‘Diamonds and Sapphires’ perfume the last time they went to Bali. I bought some Chanel no 5 when I was in Honk Kong. It’s still in the bag.

Which one do I open????

(And by the way… the ‘Allure’ perfume is guilty of false advertising. I’ve been using it for a couple of years and I’m STILL single! It hasn’t lured anyone in!!!! Am slightly outraged by this fact….)

 

Molly doesn’t care. She’s taken to sleeping in the clean washing basket by the back door. Just the thing for an old lady! She’s warm and snug and she gets to keep an eye on what’s going on.

Thermomix recipe: Supersized Gluten-free Bread. This has rave reviews.

 

This entry was posted in balance, pets, Skinflint. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Skinflint Sunday: Use what you have.

  1. Urspo says:

    I have 4-6 colognes, which i use depending on the season or my fancy. But I always use them up before I get a new one – which is usually different. I still am looking for “Summer Rain”

  2. scottsabode says:

    Ah – Elizabeth Taylor fragrances take me back. I used to like Elizabeth Taylor’s Passion For Men back in the eighties. When she died I bought another bottle for old time’s sake and I can tell you – what may have worked in the eighties was a right awful pong in 2012. Ended up in the bin unfortunately. I hope you have better luck with Diamonds and Sapphires. I’d probably go for the Chanel. I’ve worn Chanel Antaeus for 20 years now and it’s a classic.

  3. Kate says:

    If your still in the mode of “luring” things to your door I’d go with the diamonds and sapphires. Chanel might cause some water inundation given your issues over the last week. Why don’t you spoil yourself and open both, use them alternately and maybe they will last twice as long. HOHO!

  4. I can so relate. I adore ‘Byzance’. It’s been discontinued. I scour ebay daily and will buy up any bottle I find in stock, In the hope ‘ll have enough until I push up the daisies.

Don't be shy... say something!

