Skinflint Sunday: Loving the Greenhouse.

P1010014

Two weeks on and the seedlings have sprouted. Obviously a couple of the kale and tomato seeds weren’t viable, but everything else has come on. I thought that the celery seeds were useless, but decided to give them another week. This morning I saw:
P1010015

I’m going to have to plant some more, but at least I should get something!

I used paper labels on all those seeds I planted, which has now alerted me to something. I think a slug or snail has found its devilish way in there.
P1010016
Snail pellets will be popped in at the bottom and up the top before I go to bed tonight.

P1010017
Just on the other side of the gate is a clump of predominately wicking boxes, which so far seem to be chugging along nicely. Parsley, spring onions, rhubarb, garlic, rosemary, silver beet and saffron bulbs are growing here on the north side of the house in a sunny corner.

P1010021
This wicking box on the front verandah holds the daikon radishes, with 3 red freckle lettuces (somewhere) and I popped 3 sage seedlings in at the back.

P1010022
Here they are. After a week they’re still holding their own.

P1010020
This wicking box has an olive plant, a rosemary that I heavily trimmed to use in a demo for pizza and some garlic. So far they all co-exist quite happily.

Tomorrow…. growing mint in wicking boxes.

Thermomix Recipe: Steamed Prawn and Chicken dumplings  Bought some wonton and dumpling wrappers a few days ago so these are on the menu this week!

This entry was posted in gardening, Skinflint, vegetables, wicking beds. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Skinflint Sunday: Loving the Greenhouse.

  1. Urspo says:

    I used to have a greenhouse, but living where I do there is no longer any need to promote heat.

Don't be shy... say something!

