Growing mint in wicking boxes.

P1010019
This shot is for Bev. She gave me a small pot of basil mint about 18 months ago. I repotted it in a large pot, but a couple of months ago thought it’d be much happier in a wicking box. I think I’m right.
I’ve tried drying these leaves to use as a tea, but I find the taste is by far more vivid when you use the fresh leaves. I’m also really partial to these in a salad, but the boys don’t agree. These leaves have a very pungent scent and taste, which is obviously not for everyone. (I love it and I’m rapt to have so much to play with.)

P1010024

This sad specimen is a GORGEOUS mint that I call “Bunnings mint”, since I bought it there three years ago. It tastes superb and is the mint of choice for both my beetroot salad at demos and my dried peppermint tea. The frost has attacked it and it looks awful, but the same thing happened last year and when the weather warmed up it bounced back as happy as Larry, so I’m patiently waiting for that. I would’ve moved it under the eaves with the other, newer wicking boxes, but I have a colour scheme going and the black box doesn’t fit into it. I’m toying with taking cuttings and having two wicking boxes of this mint because I love it so much.

P1010023
In stark contrast, this mint is sitting right by the front door under the eaves and has come along beautifully. This is the first mint I ever bought and it’s been living on my front porch for about 5 years, grimly surviving in a tiny pot and looking awful. I planted it here about two months ago, being a sentimental old fool, and it’s repaid me by going nuts!

I’m using all of my used tea leaves from my herbs or from tea bags to use as mulch in this pot. It’s right by the front door so it’s easy to pop out in the morning and empty them out. It’s taking a little time to cover the potting mix, but I’m getting there.

I have an ‘After Dinner Mint’ plant currently being choked by parsley in a polystyrene box on the porch, so I’ll probably plant that in a wicking box and let it thrive. I love having a peppermint tea before bed and I also love the idea of not buying them but utilising the plants I have here.

P1010025
Moving away from mint, tis box contains lemon balm, also a gift from the gracious foodnstuff. It ran rampant, so when it started to look ratty at the end of summer I cut it right back to ground level and covered it up with compost to see what would happen. I left a couple of plants exposed on the edges of the box because I love lemon balm tea in summer and I didn’t want to go without.
It’s been ages, but now plants are starting to pop their heads up. They have chook poo, compost and a mini worm farm farm in there as well, so they should be well nourished. A month from now it should be starting to look like something useful.

P1010018
This is something for Bek to let her Mum know about. The sorrel LOVES the wicking box. I used a few leaves in a spag bol a couple of nights ago and it gave it a lovely, almost lemony flavour. I love the taste of this plant and often eat a leaf when I’m out there pottering around.

But I’ve saved the best news for last:
P1010027
The asparagus is up!!!! And this is the first year I can harvest it!!!!!!

Thermomix recipe: ‘Roast’ Beef in the thermomix I’m making this tonight. Looks like fun.

This entry was posted in gardening, wicking beds. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Growing mint in wicking boxes.

  1. Johblogs says:

    Asparagus! It must be spring. You can cut it every day. That’s awesome.

  2. foodnstuff says:

    I told you the basil mint would take off!! I haven’t tried it yet as a tea (thought it might be too strong) but will do so. At the moment my tea of choice is a few slices of fresh ginger with a teaspoon of honey.
    I’m getting asparagus too!! Just a couple a day but if you stand them in a mug of water they will last a few days until you have enough built up for a reasonable meal (and actually grow a bit longer). Don’t snap off the tough bottoms until ready to use as the ends will go a bit slimy in the water and you can discard those bits.

  3. Ellen says:

    I love new potatoes, boiled and slightly crushed, with a little butter and fresh mint – yummm – the taste of summer for me.

Don't be shy... say something!

