Costco – at last.

 

(Photos filched from the internet.)

WHY HAS NO ONE TOLD ME ABOUT COSTCO?

I mean; I knew about it. It’s been here for a couple of years, after all. But no one actually took me to see it. Until yesterday.

Jess, one of my Thermomix team, took me on her Costco shop along with her 15 month old daughter. I was pleased to be finally seeing it. For those who don’t know, you can only go if you’re in the company of a member and the only friend I have who’s a member kept promising to take me but it never eventuated. So we drove into the bowels of the building to park and then the adventure started.

My first clue that things were a little different was the size of the trolleys. They were slightly larger than I was used to driving, but undeterred, we marched onward, along with the steady stream of other shoppers to the warehouse beyond.

I have to say for the first half, I wasn’t convinced that it would save my family money. We wandered through the aisles and the variety was good, but I already source a lot of things cheaper. (I love Aldi still…) Then we hit the zombie apocalypse aisles.

Shoppers check out the items for sale at the opening of Costco at Docklands.

Tins! Tins! And more tins! Bulk flour and dried goods! Big jars full of STUFF. I wandered around, doing my sums while Jess toddler-wrangled and shopped, and thought to myself, ‘Yep. I’ll save money here.’ So in a cool, logical manner I decided to purchase a membership when we reached the end.

A little later we rounded a corner and I saw these:

Bulk Aldi gummy bears. I looked away and saw huge packets of Skittles. That was it. My fate was sealed. Even as I was squealing and exclaiming that I’d just found heaven in a supermarket, I knew the awful truth.

Everything I’ll save will be spent here.

Thermomix Recipe: Carrot Pesto I cooked this a while ago and last night I needed something quick, easy and with all the ingredients in our pantry. I raced onto here, sure I’d put it on the list of recipes, but sadly…. I did not. Now this situation is rectified. This recipe is not as nice as basil pesto… seriously, what could be?… but it’s a very nice, light alternative. The boys aren’t totally convinced, but I like it.

This entry was posted in friends, Quality of life, shopping. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Costco – at last.

  1. kris says:

    I love Costco. It has been one of the exciting things about moving to Melbourne from Adelaide. When my daughter visits from Adelaide she gets really excited in Costco and has bought things that have saved her heaps. (Like a toddler bike seat that sells for three times the price online and was cheaper than a secondhand one on eBay) For me, I just tend to be confused. You really have to know your prices to make sure you are actually saving. Having said that, they have great clothing deals. My 19 year old loves their $15 jeans.

  2. sootie says:

    The real problem is where to store the ginormous packs of loo paper and army-sized jars of mayo once you get home……..there’s only so much one can store while waiting for the zombie apocolypse.

  3. Isabelle says:

    I think we could resist the Gummi Bears but when we did have a membership, my husband and son kept coming home with chocolate muffins the size of a baby’s head. Not good. Well, actually very good, but, you know…

  4. Snoskred says:

    We are huge Costco people even though we only get there once every 2 months or so.

    There are so many things I love about it. I think the thing I love most is the bulk aspect of it. The fact that can I buy toilet rolls, paper towels, tissues, etc, once every six months, lug them home and put them in the cupboard and never worry about running out or having to check if I need to buy them before going shopping.

    The vitamins are always great value, the glasses wipes are excellent value, some of the bulk things are great value but above all Costco is becoming a bit of a Paleo paradise – the bulk nuts, the coconut oil for half or a third of the price you find it in the health food stores, the bulk maple and agave syrups..

    Then there are the occasional finds, like on our last trip last week, I got 160 sheets of tissue paper for something like $8, when usually 8 sheets cost me half that.

    I bought the skeleton. It is in the passenger seat of my car at the moment, it has been a great source of amusement to the people at work – but I cover it up with a towel for driving, don’t want to cause an accident or anything.. 🙂

    • Frogdancer says:

      I have a customer (who is probably going to become a consultant) who is paleo. She raves about how good she and her family feels on it. She calls herself an 80:20 paleo though… every now and then they wander from it, but in general they stick to it. She loves making her own ingredients in her tmx and says that she saves hours in the kitchen. I have to say, her family look pretty healthy! Their skin is amazing! I’m taking the boys back to Costco for a BIG shop before the holidays end. I’m visualising a 4 X a year shop for us.

      > Date: Wed, 25 Sep 2013 13:36:37 +0000 > To: frogdancer01@hotmail.com >

  5. Urspo says:

    it’s not too early for CA (Costco Anonymous)

    • Frogdancer says:

      The girl I went with cautioned me about “Costco Madness”. Apparently for the first few times you go, when you get home you find things you don’t remember putting into your trolley. But they’re SUCH BARGAINS, even though in your more rational moments you know you’ll never use them. Ryan18 and I went for a quick explore yesterday and I have to say we did pretty well, apart from his desire to bring home a $14 pack of Swiss cheese slices (which I let him have.)

      > Date: Fri, 27 Sep 2013 04:30:33 +0000 > To: frogdancer01@hotmail.com >

  6. Ellen says:

    The only time I have ever seen a thermomix irl was at a stand in Cosco, demonstrated by a lady making soup, beef curry and something sweet and handing tasters out in little paper cups. At the time I was in a hurry and didn’t have time to see the whole demo – I wish I’d made the time now. Who knows, it could be your new stamping ground for more than just shopping.

  7. Jo says:

    “the zombie apocalypse aisles” LOL! I really should get myself there one day too.

Don't be shy... say something!

